• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

tiny linux

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Digital Pimp

hello everyone, i'm very new to linux but i was wondering if there was a really small version of linux, a freind recently gave me a monster hard drive, it's huge but only holds 84 mb

so as space is limited, just wondering if i would be able to install linux on it. it'll be running on a 486/66 w/16mb ram if that helps.

Thanks, Digital

Welcome aboard, matey! We've all got something to learn here.

I've heard of Coyote Linux. It can run off a floppy disk. Dunno how useful that would be, except maybe as a firewall.

Why such a small drive? You should be able to find something bigger.

Wa11y said:
Welcome aboard, matey! We've all got something to learn here.

I've heard of Coyote Linux. It can run off a floppy disk. Dunno how useful that would be, except maybe as a firewall.

Why such a small drive? You should be able to find something bigger.

i have a "real" computer but i got a hard drive from a freind, and wanted to know if there was a small version of linux i would put on it... to see how it is. i tried Corel Linux 1.0 in the past but couldent really do much with it. but ready to try again, if it works out i'll get a larger version to use on a much faster computer.

basically just want to try it out on a 84mb garbage drive before i move it up to a larger system.

Thanks, Digital

Digital Pimp said:
i have a "real" computer but i got a hard drive from a freind, and wanted to know if there was a small version of linux i would put on it... to see how it is. i tried Corel Linux 1.0 in the past but couldent really do much with it. but ready to try again, if it works out i'll get a larger version to use on a much faster computer.