• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

tnt2/tnt2 pro hell

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

deathstar13

FSB FRIEK
Joined
Dec 24, 2001
ok i m to the last thing setting up a upgrade on my backup.hasnt been the easiest ive done by far.been at it oh 5-6 hours so far.

anyhoe heres my prob.when i install a driver on the card and restart it gets almost into windows and screen goes blank. i do a restart and go into safe mode and boots into it fine.then unistall the video drivers and it will boot into windows.

it was bought used at a local shop.mabey its bad somehow.i was able once to get into windows with driver installed but that was only once at the begining.
some info also
slotA tbird 650
epox ep7ka+
win98
detinator 30.82 was one i used ,also tried one off of windows 98 install disk.
other than the card is bad im lost.the mobo/cpu is a new install i bought used everything seems to run/check out fine.

any ideas? until them its 640x480 resalution hell! no more video cards except my main rigs and it aint getten it! lol
 
Last edited:

Samoyed

Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2002
Location
VA
Assuming that u tried several drivers AND a different vid card to MAKE SURE its not anything else in your system, I would bet the card is bad. A lot of used crap is.
 
OP
deathstar13

deathstar13

FSB FRIEK
Joined
Dec 24, 2001
yeh im thinking its gone the more i mess with it.just tried again and soon as a driver goes in and reboot i get black screen just before windows.also it wont let me change the resilution now with more than 256 colors.
 

repo man11

Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2001
Try setting it to AGP 2x in the BIOS, if you haven't allready.
I'd also try an older Detonator, maybe the 23.11.
 
OP
deathstar13

deathstar13

FSB FRIEK
Joined
Dec 24, 2001
yeh i turned the apgx4 off and put the aperature to 16mb.
i tried 28.32 drivers also its gotta be shot.

luckely the shop has a 30day guarentee. now if i can scrap up some extra cash i can return it and get something else/better.
 

The Coolest

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Did you install the chipset/AGP drivers? I had same problem w/ my TNT2 Pro on ALi and VIA chipsets, windows would just go blank screen. as I installed 4in1 for via, or the AGP driver for ALi chipset (and after that the vid card drivers) the problem went away. I'm currently running the 30.87 dets fine w/o a problem.
 

Samoyed

Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2002
Location
VA
O yes. Never forget to install the 4 in 1 drivers. For any VIA MB chipset, these drivers are required for windows to communicate with your AGP slot. The drivers can be DL from VIA or are on a CD that came with the MB.

Did u ever load those drivers? How much did u pay for this used card?
 
OP
deathstar13

deathstar13

FSB FRIEK
Joined
Dec 24, 2001
yeh i did the 4 in ones and epox has some other driver also.it will work barely with geniric pci drivers from windoze.im just gonna take it back tomorow. i also bought a pci video card today and it wont even fire up. from a differant store tho.

ill take em both back and get another card. and this time they will have to test it before i leave with it! broken cards sux!
 

SickBoy

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Jan 13, 2001
Location
Minneapolis, MN
If you still have it I'd try an even older driver - like a Detonator 6.XX or something along that line. Older cards, even if they're listed as supported in the driver readme, sometimes have issues with the new drivers.

Truthfully, anything in the 30.XX range was written with a Geforce4 in mind, so you can't expect much from that driver on a TNT2.
 

Samoyed

Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2002
Location
VA
For God's sake~! The TNT is an outdated pc of shi* not worth the bandwidth we are wasting to discuss it. Get a new card. U can get a GF2 MX 200 for 26 bucks at price watch.
 

Mr. Chambers

Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2001
Location
Iowa
Samoyed said:
For God's sake~! The TNT is an outdated pc of shi* not worth the bandwidth we are wasting to discuss it. Get a new card. U can get a GF2 MX 200 for 26 bucks at price watch.

he already said.. its not for his main rig.. its for his backup system...
 

HotKoala

Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2002
Location
Between Heaven and Hell
Samoyed said:
For God's sake~! The TNT is an outdated pc of shi* not worth the bandwidth we are wasting to discuss it. Get a new card. U can get a GF2 MX 200 for 26 bucks at price watch.

Heck if it's not a P4 3.06 - 9700 Pro - et-c - it's outdated, right? Why even discuss anything? Let's all just get the newest components and the world will be super!
 

Samoyed

Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2002
Location
VA
So he pays 15 bucks for the TNT2 vs 26 for a new and better card and this is worth agonizing over? I will send him the 10 dollars difference.

Doods, this is not a case of me being snobbish because he has a gf3 vs a 9700. The GF3 is still pretty good. In this case we are taking about a TNT2. That's like a Yugo. If u had a Yugo and could spend 10 bucks more and get a working Ford Escort would you still be thinking about the Yugo?

Is 10 dollars worth hours of testing and frustration for a obsolete card that wont work?
 

Mr. Chambers

Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2001
Location
Iowa
Samoyed said:
So he pays 15 bucks for the TNT2 vs 26 for a new and better card and this is worth agonizing over? I will send him the 10 dollars difference.

Doods, this is not a case of me being snobbish because he has a gf3 vs a 9700. The GF3 is still pretty good. In this case we are taking about a TNT2. That's like a Yugo. If u had a Yugo and could spend 10 bucks more and get a working Ford Escort would you still be thinking about the Yugo?

Is 10 dollars worth hours of testing and frustration for a obsolete card that wont work?

thats not the point... there's a certain satisfaction one gets from making something out of nothing, why do i overclock? why dont i just run out and spend just that *little* bit more of cash to get a faster card in the first place... :rolleyes:

although i'm sure if you send him the 10 dollar difference he might do it, but i'm pretty sure you're just blowing smoke...