• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

To take off cpu pads or not. That is the question.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

krag

Classifieds Moderator
I am going to pelt/block my Xp2000 (i have never done it before). Do I take off the little rubber pads that are on the cpu? I thought I heard off some guy over at HardOCP didn't and it left a little gap between the cpu and the pelt which made it fry. Are the little rubber pads rigteous or evil?
Yes I have read a WHOLE BUNCH of articles on cooling and I still can't find the answer.

cjlax5

u may want to, in this case, take them off and put some stuff in between the cold plate and the cpu to prevent condensation on the chip, cause that will ruin it.

cjlax5

AntiHeiss said:
I'd leave them on, just be sure to use some thermal paste in there.

but he is using a pelt, and if he leaves them on there will be air in between there and there could be condensation on the cpu, and water + electronic = bad.

OP
krag

krag

Classifieds Moderator
Should I put Arctic silver 2 inbetween the variuos surfaces. Like the cpu & cold plate & pelt?

OP
krag

krag

Classifieds Moderator
thanks bro, thats what i will do.:cool:

Smizack

Dead Boomslang collector
krag said:
I am going to pelt/block my Xp2000 (i have never done it before). Do I take off the little rubber pads that are on the cpu? I thought I heard off some guy over at HardOCP didn't and it left a little gap between the cpu and the pelt which made it fry. Are the little rubber pads rigteous or evil?
Yes I have read a WHOLE BUNCH of articles on cooling and I still can't find the answer.

Hmmm... I'd take them off and sell them to Smizack!;)
:D :D

donny_paycheck

Inactive Super Quad Mod
Re: Re: To take off cpu pads or not. That is the question.

Smizack said: