• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

To watercool or not... that is the question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

sweatdatechniq

Hi guys,
I guess you could say I'm a newbie to the forums, maybe not to air cooling but certainly to watercooling.

I'm trying to decide whether or not it will be worth it to switch to water and whether the gains will outweigh the means. First let me explain a bit about my setup. I am currently decked out as far as air will take me. I am running a 2500+barton (stock 1.8GHz) OC'ed @ 2.2GHx (3200+) @ 37 idle/45 load on a A7N8X with slk-9000 and smart fanII @ 3500RPM. I also have excellcent air flow with 2 - 80mm at front (intake) and 2 in the back (exhaust), a side fan (intake) and a blow hole (exhaust). This is all in a chieftec/chenming 1030 case. Room ambient temps hover around 78°F or 28°C.

With the hot summer months right around the corner, my ambient temps will rise up to maybe 82-83°F. Given this, I have been contemplating a watercooled setup. Firstly, will the average watercooled setup be any more beneficial than my current setup in terms of performance. I know it will probably be quieter, but my setup is already pretty quiet.

I won't be building my setup from parts I purchase from home depot. I don't feel comfortable enough to do that yet. I have read up a little on the whole concept and it is something I definitely would like to get into. What kits out there do you guys suggest? Should I go Y-pipe? If so, should I go with the 3/8" tubing which, in turn, would impact my choice of pump. Given that I wish to maximize performance, what would be your guys' top reccomendations? I was looking at the Maze3 power kit from dangerden.com but am open to any other suggestions. Thanks for your help guys.

sweat

fiji

Rafterman223 said: