• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Total noob here hoping for some help with a few questions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

superkewlnamebr

Hey guys!

So i just put together my new computer and currently waiting for GPU to be delivered monday. I have an i9-10850k so it has integrated graphics. I fired it up to mainly get windows installed and some games installed while I wait for GPU to be delivered monday. I wanted to get this stuff out of the way so i could be ready to go come monday.

I am totally new to overclocking. I found that intel has a program, extreme tuning utility, that is basically like a helper program for first time overclocking noobs. I noticed that the 10850k is not officially supported by that program but I assumed (i know probably horrible to assume here) that it would work with the 10850k. I am assuming the 10850k is not officially supported bc its a more recent release.

So last night i fired it up on the new machine and ran the bench mark in the intel utility and noticed the temps would sky rocket to 100C and throttling would be enabled for almost the entire bench mark. I checked the idle temps of the CPU and it sits around 32C. I have an arctic liquid freezer 2 240mm cooler and was under the impression this would be easily enough for a moderate OC.

So im here asking for any help/advice yall could provide. Should i have a GPU in the computer before trying to overclock the CPU? Does that make a difference at all? I would not think so but again im a total noob here so i dont know.

Do you think there is actually an issue with the Utility itself since it does not officially support the 10850k?

Also another thing yall will probably want to know. The motherboard is an ASUS Rog Strix Z-490-E.