• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Trouble with new AN35N Ultra

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

GomerOfDoom

Alright, so I'm a bit of a newbie. Not necessarily new to computers, but new to the Shuttle AN35N Ultra. Just got it, an AMD AthlonXP 2500+, and 512 MB of Kingston PC2700 RAM the other day. Got home, installed everything into the case no prob. Booted up my comp and installed windows (I had formatted the hard drive before installing the new hardware). While installing, I used the Shuttle drivers off the disc that came with my board. Anyhoo... got everything all loaded up and went to watch a DVD. Everything seemed to go ok, but then started getting a lot of "chop" while watching. This DVD drive and DVD media worked fine with my old setup (Asus A7V w/ Athlon T-Bird 1000), but now I am getting repeatable chop whenever I watch the DVD. The screen jerks and the sound gets glitchy. By the way, I have an LG combo CDRW/DVD drive GCC-4120B and am using PowerDVD version 3.0. (Also, I have run the DVDs in my laptop with no problem, so it's not the DVDs themselves).

My first thought is that my drivers are wrong. Thus, I have the following question:

Assuming I have a virgin installation of Windows without having loaded ANY drivers yet, what drivers should I install and in what order? There are drivers on nVidia's website, there are drivers on the disc that came with the board, and I thinhk there are Microsoft drivers somewheres... which should I use?

If that doesn't solve my problem, I'm not sure where to go, so any other ideas/suggestions are welcome.

Actually, while I'm here, let me ask a few more:

My advanced chipset features in my BIOS is showing:
Sys Performance: Optimal
FSB Freq: 166
Mem Freq: Auto
FSB Spread Spec: .50%
AGP Spread Spec: .50%