• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

True or False (Nforce2)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Lumen

Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2002
Location
NMSU
Just a little quiz for you all ;)


1. Nforce2 cant really show its muscles without the 333 fsb of the 2700+ and 2800+ models.

2. Nforce2 needs 2 modules of ram to run at full capacity.
 

juliendogg

Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2001
Location
NC, USA
i'm going with

1 false
2 true

so long as you got enough smarts to unlock your chip and crank up the fsb.

also, we're all just speculating until we see some good production models of nf2.
 

Deathknight

Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2002
Location
Chicago
Rafterman223 said:
true, true, it's not worth the purchase. the performance gain is negligable.

Heh I don't know about the rest of you but an amd board that will let me boost my FSB speed through the roof without overclocking my agp card is a huge plus.
 

Tipycol

Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2002
1) True, but it can get those "muscles" by overclocking what's out now
2) True, but I'm not sure what you mean by full capacity
 

ARGON

Registered
Joined
Oct 26, 2002
Rafterman223 true, true, it's not worth the purchase. the performance gain is negligable.


Uh... surely you must be joking. You are telling me THIS difference is negligable???
 

james.miller

Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2002
Location
Dunstable, uk
its not to be trusted if its from THG

Above all, because the Front Side Bus clock has been increased from 133 MHz to 166 MHz, the CPU can take full advantage of the higher bandwidth of the nForce2 chipset with Dual DDR333. This offers a theoretical bandwidth of 6.4 GB/s (PC3200 x 2).

i thought dd333 was known as pc2700, not pc 3200, and so that theoretical bandwidth of the n/force 2 would equal 5.4gb/sec, not 6.4gb/sec. hmmm strange........
 
Last edited:

Tipycol

Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2002
james.miller said:
its not to be trusted if its from THG



i thought dd333 was known as pc2700, not pc 3200, and so that theoretical bandwidth of the n/force 2 would equal 5.4gb/sec, not 6.4gb/sec. hmmm strange........

But the memory can run at a different speed than the fsb (like the intels) on this board. I think the timings are affected by doing this, but it's still better than running it at 166MHz. Still, the best way would just be to overclock to 200fsb ;)
 

james.miller

Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2002
Location
Dunstable, uk
what i was getting at was the fact that they called ddr333 pc3200, when its actually pc2700.

THG said "This offers a theoretical bandwidth of 6.4 GB/s (PC3200 x 2). " but it doesnt if its running at 166fsb syncronous, does it?

this is an example of their idiocy (sp) and yet another reason why they shouldnt be trusted
 

Tipycol

Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2002
james.miller said:
what i was getting at was the fact that they called ddr333 pc3200, when its actually pc2700.

THG said "This offers a theoretical bandwidth of 6.4 GB/s (PC3200 x 2). " but it doesnt if its running at 166fsb syncronous, does it?

this is an example of their idiocy (sp) and yet another reason why they shouldnt be trusted

my mistake...lol
Still I would like to see their boards
 

snvpa

Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2002
Location
Connecticut
first xbit labs has a good review today.

1 f you just need to run a chip at 166fsb or higher.
2. t but I just want it in my hands. I don't trust any reviewer no matter how good. i wna to see and test for myself.
 

m4a2t0t

Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2001
Location
phx AZ
you just need to run fsb at 166Mhz

1 module will perform the same as the kt333 and kt400, 2 modules will outperform both. 2 modules are needed to have a 128bit interface

when the fsb is synchronous at 166mhz their will be lower latency, meaning higher bandwidth

argon, tom is a complete idiot and his reviews are heavily biased and cannot be trusted
 
Last edited: