• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Ubuntu drivers for notebook

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ToiletDuck

I'm new to linux. I've toyed with it in the past but this time I'm taking the complete plunge. I used wubi to install ubuntu and that could possibly have been the best decision I've made in a LONG time regarding computers. Simply put, I love it. The ease of use, well made menus, extremely useful download and install application are just some of the things I like about it. I'm going to try using WINE for the few apps that can't be replaced by linux apps and see how that works. If it goes well I'll probbaly be kicking windows 7 to the curb. There's only a few reason I might keep it on a small partition but basically Ubuntu looks great, feels great, handles well and can do everything I want while at the same time using less resources.

My question comes down to drivers. I have an ASUS X83V notebook. I've notice it being a little sluggish. I'm assuming this is all because Ubuntu is a new install. I'm wanting to make sure I can optimize this system the most possible and one area I can tell needs help is the graphics. I have the Nvidia 9300m chipset and currently am working at installing that. Having issues but I'll figure it out. I'm wanting to know if there's some way for me to see which system components have generic drivers vs optimized ones. IE Gfx card, sound, motherboard, CPU. Is there an easy way to search for that in Ubuntu and then have it download the appropriate drivers for those components?

Typically on a PC with an NVIDIA card, the only driver you need to manually get is the display driver. Should be able to download it from System > Administration > Hardware Drivers.