• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Ugh this is embarassing

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Brando

I offered to install a new sata hard drive on my co workers old Athlon pc that he got from a crack head for $50. The thing had an illegitimate copy of xp and it's hard drive died. Trying to be nice, I offered to help him out by putting a shiny new wd3200aaks sata drive in the thing (has 2 sata plugs) with ubuntu (which I'm new to lol) so he wouldn't have to buy windows. All he does is surf the net, watch pron, listen to music, and do open office stuff. Seemed simple enough until the bios wouldn't recognize the new hard drive. It's an Acorp 7KM400QP and apparently they went out of business before they got around to adding sata2 compatibility or something. So now what? Is there a way to make this work or do I have to tell the guy he has to pay a restocking fee for the hard drive and get another one because I'm an idiot? I'm doing this for free by the way :bang head:bang head:bang head:bang head:bang head:bang head:bang head:bang head

petteyg359

Likes Popcorn
There should be a spot to add a jumper on the drive to limit to SATA1 drive. Most boards should be able to handle it by themselves, but some cheap board need the drive to specifically tell them to work. See jumper setting 4. Also, Google tells me there may be an IRQ or some such issue with Radeon graphics cards and that hard drive.
image copy-pasted straight out of WD PDF with rectangular selection box in Okular - Linux PDF viewers FTW

Attachments

• WDjumper.png
    WDjumper.png
    31.3 KB · Views: 206
Last edited:
OP
Brando

Brando