• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Unable to update AMD GPU Driver

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

SageAdvisor

New Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2016
Can anyone tell me or want to speculate on why installing graphics card driver updates is so retardedly, stupidly hard to do. I swear I'm almost sure I've NEVER installed graphics card updates without having to research why it's not just installing for at least 2 to 3 hours or just finally giving up. I mean I've been using computers since the beginning you know the IBM compatibles. I had one of the first Pentium 60's remember the ones with the flaw in it. And I have a lot of skill with computers. Hardware, Software and Internet technologies and yet...

We don't have DMA conflicts or IRQ conflicts anymore, any other piece of software or drivers you want to update you just say update or download the new drivers or version and it just installs. Just like that. And then there's GPU drivers and software... I'm not even going to get into it.

And I'm not talking entry level hardware here either. I don't buy top of the line GPUs simply because they would be completely wasted on me since I don't play ANY games and I don't use them for anything but running lots of screens which really doesn't take a lot of processing power just lots of connectors. But I buy reasonably powerful GPUs just because it just wouldn't be right to put entry level GPUs in my LOADED machines.

I am however interested in updating the drivers on my other machine since I discovered quite by accident since I almost never bother to update my GPU drivers since it's such a pain but did so and discovered much to my delight it allowed me to increase the resolution on all my 27" screens from 1920x1080 to 2560x1440. I'm tickled this is even possible I didn't think it was possible to increase the resolution past the "native resolution" of an LCD screen. Now I want to do it on my other machine but the AMD installer has been stuck at 2% for the last 3 hours. Like I said completely retarded. I've got the latest Windows updates installed and most of my other stuff is current as well just not the GPU drivers. Even this machine it has 3 GPUs in it (2 AMD GPUs & an NVIDIA GPU and neither of them fully installed their respective updates however they installed enough that the ability to increase the resolution on their connected screens was included in the updated components. Yay. lol

Help Me.

Thanks in advance.

This is so unreal. I just can't believe a component as major at the GPU can be soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo hard to install. It's just completely retarded. It's been 5 hours now of uninstalling and retrying, uninstalling and retrying, uninstalling and retrying I've tried a couple of different uninstallers now the AMD one and the DDU recommended by you Photonboy. But nothing lets the driver or even the Catalyst Control Center install. I just can't understand it. How can it possibly be this hard. I mean how can both these companies be THIS BAD at writing software and drivers for their products that they can't just install themselves. clear out whatever's blocking them and insert themselves where they need to be. They need to hire some hackers obviously none of their legitimate programmers have any idea how to write code. lol. I Just don't get it. And this isn't just me that's having issues. There are huge numbers of folks out there that are asking for help for this exact issue for MANY different cards. It's Unbelievable.
 

Robert17

Premium Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2011
Location
Republic of Texas
Welcome to OCF ! (if you haven't already heard that, 'bout time) :welcome:




Maybe try uninstalling all your AMD drivers and software that is currently installed, then reboot, before proceeding with a new download & install. If it's been a long time since you last did it there may be some odd hiccups going on in the process.
 
OP
S

SageAdvisor

New Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2016
Welcome to OCF ! (if you haven't already heard that, 'bout time) :welcome:

Maybe try uninstalling all your AMD drivers and software that is currently installed, then reboot, before proceeding with a new download & install. If it's been a long time since you last did it there may be some odd hiccups going on in the process.

Thanks for the welcome Robert.

I actually uninstalled ALL GPU software, AMD, NVIDIA (Because I have an NVIDIA card as well in that machine), & Intel (Because Intel & Windows install them by default because of my CPU and MB's capacity to function sans discreet GPU).
I used the AMD Clean Uninstall Utility and the Guru3D Recommended DDU (Display Driver Uninstaller) which uninstalls ALL GPU drivers and software in Safe Mode. I then re ran the driver installation and the exact same thing happened. Just sat at 2% for hours. So nothing happened AGAIN. Very disappointing.
 

knoober

Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
I am however interested in updating the drivers on my other machine since I discovered quite by accident since I almost never bother to update my GPU drivers since it's such a pain but did so and discovered much to my delight it allowed me to increase the resolution on all my 27" screens from 1920x1080 to 2560x1440. I'm tickled this is even possible I didn't think it was possible to increase the resolution past the "native resolution" of an LCD screen. Now I want to do it on my other machine but the AMD installer has been stuck at 2% for the last 3 hours. Like I said completely retarded. I've got the latest Windows updates installed and most of my other stuff is current as well just not the GPU drivers. Even this machine it has 3 GPUs in it (2 AMD GPUs & an NVIDIA GPU and neither of them fully installed their respective updates however they installed enough that the ability to increase the resolution on their connected screens was included in the updated components. Yay. lol

Am I reading that wrong? 3Gpu = 2xAMD + 1 Nvidia ? Im no expert but I am not certain that is a possible combination. If this is your configuration and you have never updated your drivers.... my guess is that you have been running on the Windows default drivers ever since all of those cards were installed ?

Try with just 1 of the AMD cards and see if you can get the install to complete
 
OP
S

SageAdvisor

New Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2016


Am I reading that wrong? 3Gpu = 2xAMD + 1 Nvidia ? Im no expert but I am not certain that is a possible combination. If this is your configuration and you have never updated your drivers.... my guess is that you have been running on the Windows default drivers ever since all of those cards were installed ?

Try with just 1 of the AMD cards and see if you can get the install to complete

Smile. Actually that's the configuration of the machine that I've already updated. Those 3 cards are working fine together and the update was mostly painless as well. I wasn't using default drivers before the update either.
The machine that's giving me problems right now only has 1 AMD card in it currently. A single Gigabyte 7870 OC which is the same as the 2 AMD cards I have in the machine you just commented on.
Oh btw my OS on both machine's I just mentioned is Windows 7 Ultimate x64. I forgot to mention it in my OP
 
Last edited:

Robert17

Premium Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2011
Location
Republic of Texas
Sounds like a conflict with the AMD update utility and some other service or software to me. MS just acknowledged that there is a problem with Win7 and 8.1 update services and it may somehow be complicit in the AMD utility. Just guessing. Look in your Services tab and check what's running in the background that may be an issue.
 
OP
S

SageAdvisor

New Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2016
Sounds like a conflict with the AMD update utility and some other service or software to me. MS just acknowledged that there is a problem with Win7 and 8.1 update services and it may somehow be complicit in the AMD utility. Just guessing. Look in your Services tab and check what's running in the background that may be an issue.

I'll check it out but I'm not sure that could be the case since the 2 machines with 7870s in them are nearly mirror images of each other and the one with 2 7870s and a GTX660 allowed the update to complete. Something is stopping the update I'm still trying to do at 2% so it's really not even getting started. Any idea what I should be looking for in services.msc (I'm assuming that's what you were referring to by update services. I never heard of such a thing.)
 
OP
S

SageAdvisor

New Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2016
Control Panel > System & Security > Administrative Tools > System Configuration > Services

You should have just said msconfig. I had no idea about the location of the path you identified. It's not located there on my system. Not sure if I removed it from there or...

But now I know. I'm not at that system right now but I'll check when I am.

thanks for the suggestion.

Want to hear something funny, or bizarre, I've used msconfig thousands of times and never even noticed it's called System Configuration. I just saw it there right in the titlebar. So weird.