• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Up dated my BIOS on my TI4200

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Zazuk

Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2001
Location
Portland, OR. USA
I updated my BIOS on my Gainward TI4200 form 4.25.00.30.00 to 4.25.00.37.00 then I tried overclocking it and all I can say is WOW.
I went for 290 core 580 memory to 315 core 620 memory with out getting any polygon artifacts. Needless to say, I'm very happy. I get a 3DMark2001 score of 13,332.:D

Edit:
The default settings are 250/513
 
Last edited:

Nolo31

Member
Joined
May 4, 2003
Location
Sheboygan Falls
Getting my MSI ti4200 next week. Could you provide a link to upgrading the bios to I can bookmark it. If upgrading the bios allows a better overclock, I'm all over it.
 

Puer Aeternus

Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2001
Location
In your head (Ottawa.Canada)
Nolo31 said:
Getting my MSI ti4200 next week. Could you provide a link to upgrading the bios to I can bookmark it. If upgrading the bios allows a better overclock, I'm all over it.

I just tried updating my MSI bios using Live update2....not working at the moment..MSI may have stopped updating BIOS..I dunno, i will try again later. GOOD Luck..you will need to have your card installed first before using live update.
LIVE UPDATE UTILITY
 

asw7576

Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2002
Location
Jakarta
I did mine too... from 300/565 to 300/600 easy. I use Nvidia Bios Editor v.435 to mod the bios value for permanent Mhz.
 

Puer Aeternus

Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2001
Location
In your head (Ottawa.Canada)
LiveUpdate2 for MSI does not seem to be working. I would like to change the bios on my vid card...has anyone used LiveUpdate2 recently?
Is there another way to change the bios..I am not sure if I need a specific bios for my card.
Thanks
 

Cube

Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2001
Location
Denver, Colorado, USA
I just updated my MSI Geforce4 Ti4200 from 4.25.00.29 to 4.25.00.37, thanks to the BIOS on nVidia BIOSes and Utilities. You just have to load the new bios into the bios editor and change the IDs to match your current ones. The way I found out my IDs was by using Dumpbios and opening up a copy of my current bios to see what they were. Then editing the new bios with the numbers. Reboot with a floppy and run the flash utility with the new bios and that should do it.

Unfortunately I haven't been able to overclock the card any higher.

I don't bother to use the MSI Live Update for the video card because it has never had an updated bios for the card. But that isn't a problem since the BIOSes on that page work fine.
 

Puer Aeternus

Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2001
Location
In your head (Ottawa.Canada)
Tried MSI's LiveUpdate again and this time it worked...very painless bios update..less than a min!!!(and no need for a floppy:D )

I kept my current O/C @ 300/600....so far I see no artifacts where previously I would see occasional tearing in high end games like BF1942 & UT2003. I may be able to clock a little higher but still testing to see if all artifacts are gone:)
Given the extra cooling I have i was sure that I could over 300/600 but no such luck(w/ out extra cooling I was maxed at 300/600)...w/ this new bios it may be possible.
 

Nolo31

Member
Joined
May 4, 2003
Location
Sheboygan Falls
I got my card last night, very nice! Anyway, live update2 didn't seem to work. I needed to format my HDD, so I did last night. When I get home, I will try it again.
 

Puer Aeternus

Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2001
Location
In your head (Ottawa.Canada)
Nolo31 said:
I got my card last night, very nice! Anyway, live update2 didn't seem to work. I needed to format my HDD, so I did last night. When I get home, I will try it again.
Before you try the bios update...perhaps test your card w/ out first..when you reach a Peformance limit..try the bios flash to see what changes there are. Again, my games seem to play w/ out any tearing.
also, I always keep my card at 300/600. Only because of extra cooling and ram sinks..i have heard of performance dropping w/ new cards after a few months of high overclocks.
 

Nolo31

Member
Joined
May 4, 2003
Location
Sheboygan Falls
card installed, 43.45 drivers, stock cooling. i got to 300/630 before i noticed any artifacts. I'm in the process of trying to get live update to work at the moment. Will let you know soon.
 

Puer Aeternus

Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2001
Location
In your head (Ottawa.Canada)
That Live update2 seems to be a finicky thing..I dunno why it worked once out of 4 tries. I was jut patient and gave it a day or two. You may wanna go straight to the msi site and get the latest version of liveupdate. Or better yet email MSI for support. I think MSI is having probs w/ their site..it cant be our prob because a few of us are having the issue.liveupdate works..just not when we want it to:)

Not sure I understand your question Parthenon...I assume you are inquiring what bios to download...if you can get LiveUpdate2 to work than it will do the work for you. Liveupdate2 is on your Drivers cd that came w/ your MSI vid card..if not go to the MSI site.
LIVEUPDATE2

Hope this helps:)