• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Updated chipset drivers made a difference with NVME speeds.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

krag

Classifieds Moderator
Joined
Mar 3, 2002
I just now got around to benching my Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus 1T drive that I have had for 2 months. The 1st bench was not living up to the advertised speeds. I checked my mobo chipset drivers and there was a update (luv Asus armory crate) for my mobo chipset. I installed it and ran the benchmark again. I am pleased to report that I am closer to the advertised speeds but not quite there yet. The advertised speeds for my Sabrent are "7,000Mbs read & 5300Mbs write." The site says "up to" those speeds. Yes, my mobo is a PCIe 4.0 mobo. And I flashed the latest bios with the newest Agesa firmware from Asus....2 weeks ago.

Q. Is anyone here that uses the Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus actually getting the advertised speeds of 7,000Mbs read & 5300Mbs write?

Before and after screen shots....

- - - Auto-Merged Double Post - - -

The 1st one is the before and the second one is after the chipset update. Looks like I won and lost some performance???

- - - Auto-Merged Double Post - - -

Why are my write speeds so low???
 

Attachments

  • Sabrent 4 rocket 1.png
    Sabrent 4 rocket 1.png
    592.3 KB · Views: 139
  • Sabrent 4 rocket 2.png
    Sabrent 4 rocket 2.png
    340.5 KB · Views: 138
OP
krag

krag

Classifieds Moderator
Joined
Mar 3, 2002
This is my D: drive it is the twin Sabrent Rocket of my C: but my D: is empty, it has no files on it yet. My C: in the original post is in the M.2 slot closest to my CPU with the D: being the furthest one away from the CPU. My question is, do I have to assign my PCIe lanes in the bios? Is that even possible with my mobo? Asus Strix X570-E, the one in my siggy...
 

Attachments

  • Sabrent 4 rocket 3.png
    Sabrent 4 rocket 3.png
    274.5 KB · Views: 129

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Looks like typical run variance.

You want to see advertised results, run ATTO. ;)

As far as the second drive, I believe that m.2 is connected to the chipset and there is a bit of latency there compared to be direct connected to the cpu. What does your manual say that m.2 socket runs at?
 
OP
krag

krag

Classifieds Moderator
Joined
Mar 3, 2002
ATTO, dang! I forgot all about that program. Ill have to dig out my manual. As i was typing the OP, I thought about getting my manual.
 
OP
krag

krag

Classifieds Moderator
Joined
Mar 3, 2002
well, the results are better. However the drive that has the best performance is the M.2 slot that is furthest away from the CPU. Q. If I physically swap the drives will I suffer no conflicts? Or...can I use Achronis and just blow my OS to the other drive?
 

Nebulous

Señor Senior, Senior
Joined
Oct 11, 2002
Location
The Empire State
Remember temps will also result in poor performance for the M.2 drive. I have my M.2 drive on the bottom port away from the video card. I also added a heatsink to it and attached a 70mm fan near it blowing cool air across it. Helps alot.

When I tried the top port above the video card, it ran warmer.

I don't think it's going to affect anything swapping spots. You'll just have to enable which slot in the bios.
 
OP
krag

krag

Classifieds Moderator
Joined
Mar 3, 2002
Thanks for the info Neb! I did not know that about NVME and temps. Makes sense though. I plan to swap M.2 slots when I move everything over to my new Corsair 5000X RGB case that came earlier this week. taking today off from reality and eating and gaming and watching Youtube all day today. Nice to have a slouch day every once in awhile! LOL!
 

spiritedandy

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2003
Location
Middlesbrough
Thanx crag did driver update i had a strange time but i ended up clean install too then mbr and gpt issue lol ....dont think it was that though defo driver i cant remember all old scores 6000 read 3000 write but these are way better thanx again . i had m2 in slot 2 and 3 but moved to 1 and 2 diff board though that was msi meg ace and 980pro samsung
 

Attachments

  • CrystalDiskMark_20210620183638.png
    CrystalDiskMark_20210620183638.png
    25 KB · Views: 48
  • CrystalDiskMark_20210620185339.png
    CrystalDiskMark_20210620185339.png
    162.8 KB · Views: 46
OP
krag

krag

Classifieds Moderator
Joined
Mar 3, 2002
Wow! look at those speeds!!! What kind of drive setup do you have?
 

spiritedandy

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2003
Location
Middlesbrough
Samsung PCIe® 4.0 NVMe™ SSD 980 PRO

2x500gb in raid 0 . Im not sure it was due to drivers now as i changed slots . From 2and3 to using slot 1 and 2 now
 
OP
krag

krag

Classifieds Moderator
Joined
Mar 3, 2002
Samsung PCIe® 4.0 NVMe™ SSD 980 PRO

2x500gb in raid 0 . Im not sure it was due to drivers now as i changed slots . From 2and3 to using slot 1 and 2 now

Oh I see raid O. I thought about doing that. I do have 2 Sabrent Rocket Plus drives in my rig. Those speeds are incredible sprite
 

spiritedandy

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2003
Location
Middlesbrough
Ive never had any problems in raid 0 and nothing on there that if it did fail would matter . Give it a go and repost figures interesting to see