• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Upgrade from athlon x2 215 to Phenom x4 960t black

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dopemoney

Registered
hi all

i have decided to low budget customize a 2009 business desktop that my old boss gave me a few years back. this will be my initial foray into building/customizing computers, so i have limited knowledge and experience. i don't want to replace mobo yet because right now that is out of my comfort zone. after some research, i think i want to put a Phenom x4 960t in it. the current board supports am2+/am3 cpus at 95w max. i will get latest bios when i am ready to install. i am curious about overclocking (i do understand not all boards will allow unlocking add'l cores). after the cpu is installed and i reboot, will i get a screen with options to customize clock settings and try to unlock cores?

next, i understand core voltage and temperatures are important. with stock cpu fan, is 1.45 core voltage and around 50C adequate? this will be a 24hr computer. i read that cpu multipliers can be around 17-19 (3.8ghz) safely and nb multiplier at 13 (2.4ghz). i am not sure what any of this means. the integrated graphics were replaced years ago with an Asus 8400gs. i will putting in a sapphire hd7750 soon and utilize the hdmi port. it is compatible with the current board and doesn't require separate power supply.

as it stands, the computer runs really well and is very stable even when i have Word Perfect, Word, Adobe Pro and numerous google tabs open. i can play star wars old republic with no problems.