• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

upgrade my old motherboard and processor (P7P55D-E LX and i5 760)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

gray9596

Hi,

I'm completely new to this so here goes.

I've had my gaming rig for 9 years now. this is the spec:

Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64-bit
CPU
Intel Core i5 760 @ 2.80GHz 36 °C
Lynnfield 45nm Technology
RAM
16.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 668MHz (9-9-9-24)
Motherboard
ASUSTeK Computer INC. P7P55D-E LX (LGA1156) 38 °C
Graphics
G2420HDBL (1920x1080@60Hz)
2047MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 (Gigabyte) 24 °C
Storage
931GB SAMSUNG HD103SJ ATA Device (SATA ) 26 °C
232GB Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB ATA Device (SATA (SSD)) 27 °C
1862GB Western Digital WD My Passport 259D USB Device (USB (SATA) ) 29 °C
Optical Drives
ATAPI iHOS104 ATA Device
TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-S223L ATA Device
Audio
Plantronics HD1

However, I need to do more work using virtual machines and this just isn't up to it, so I'd like to change the motherboard and cpu.

Can anyone suggest a motherboard and CPU that I could upgrade to.

Many thanks :)

What is your budget? I think is the first and main question. You will also need to upgrade your ram as well as any new CPU’s use DDR4 so that will need to be taken into consideration.

Everything else should work fine with a change of the main components.

Hi,

Budget is probably around the £300 to £350 mark if that sounds about right. I don't really know the costs. But a processor that equates to the old i5 one that I have would be perfectly fine.

Thanks

I used to have an i7 from that generation, the new processors are night and day compared to what you have. However you won’t be getting an i5 for that budget, prices are still a little high at the moment.