• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

vantec 520a psu

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

obliv

Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2002
i just got my vantec 520a in, frickin sweet.. my question, how much voltage can that extra AC output take? i wanna plug my surge into there so all my stuff turns off when my comp does; can it overload?
 

JudgeDredd

Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2002
Location
Austin, Texas
1. I believe it acts just like an extension cord, and shouldnt affect your computer volts at all

BUT

2. I think the plug stays active when the computer is turned off. Consult the manual.
 

deathstar13

FSB FRIEK
Joined
Dec 24, 2001
yeh id plus the psu into the surge protecter and then power my moniter off the psu ac outlet. u do it the way u stated its lighting target practice!
 
OP
obliv

obliv

Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2002
all i power with my surge is the monitor, printer, and my cable modem, how is that over doing it? :p
 
OP
obliv

obliv

Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2002
additional ac outlet, its BEGGING for it, and i have no idea what its limitations are :(
 

juliendogg

Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2001
Location
NC, USA
should be fine for just your printer, modem, monitor. it's just a jump of the main power line to the psu, that line will carry more than enough juice i'd think. it is also switched, i read this in the review as i'm shopping for the same psu, when i do get mine, the additional outlet will power my water pump :)
 

RangerJoe

All that is Man!
Joined
Nov 24, 2001
Location
Stillwater, Oklahoma
how about this...you use the surge protector for your main computer...and plug everything into their...and if you dont have enough room..move one plug from the main one..and put it into the secondary...and plug the secondary..into the main plug
 
OP
obliv

obliv

Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2002
well i was thinking of just mounting a small surge on the right side of the case, have every thing in there, and its connected to the psu, then connect the psu to the wall socket using an extension chord -- it'd be easier for lans.
 
OP
obliv

obliv

Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2002
ahh, good point -- then maybe ill just connect the psu to the surge and use a 3 split extension block to power monitor/printer/cable :)