• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

various questions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Digital Pimp

Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2001
Location
Richmond B.C. Canada
hey all. i'm moving out soon and will be setting up a wireless network linking my landlords 2 PC's and mine in a suite.

i was wondering what would be the best way to do this?

the cable connection is downstairs on their side with their 2nd pc upstairs... my suite is downstairs on the other side of the house.

i have a linksys wireless router (befw11s4) now and was gonna put that on their side with a wireless pci card in their pc.

what i'm wondering is... would another wireless router work for me, as i'll be having at least 2 pc's. i know i would have to disable the DHCP server on the 2nd router but i dont know if it'll act as an access point and switch, or if i'll need a bridge or dedicated access point plus a switch. looking for the best signal and expandability.

also how is 11b for gaming over the net?

thanks guys. Digital
 

specific

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2002
Location
Atlanta, GA
just know that signals lose more strength through floors rather than walls

D-Link makes a repeater, but i don't know how well it works. They claim that it repeats signals from most other manufacturer's routers.

Linksys makes a booster, to be stacked on the router, but once again, i've never used it.

There are 802.11b gaming adapters for Xbox & PS2, so i guess you would be fine there. I don't think you are going to have trouble saturating your upload speeds.
 

Supchaka

Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2003
Location
California
Id run the cable to the wireless, hardwire the machine that is closest to it, then use wireless in the upstairs PC and yours. How far away is the furthest machine from where the AP would be?
 
OP
Digital Pimp

Digital Pimp

Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2001
Location
Richmond B.C. Canada
not far... maybe 30 ft. through a floor, probally one or two walls, the other one would be about 15 ft away , with about 4 walls in the way

what i'm wanting to know is can you use a wireless router just as an access point/switch. eg. 2 wireless routers one pci/usb wireless adapter one with dhcp disabled.

Will that work?

Digital
 

Supchaka

Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2003
Location
California
Yeah you could set it as an ad-hoc network... but all in all, your internet is still downstairs and wouldnt be any different?
 
OP
Digital Pimp

Digital Pimp

Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2001
Location
Richmond B.C. Canada
i spoke with linksys today and they said 2 routers couldent talk to eachother cause it dosent have bridging capability, so bridge + switch it is...:(

Digital