• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Visual Studio 6.0

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

CKY WC

New Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2002
Location
PA
What are the VS6.0 requirements? more specificly vb6 and msdn 6a w/ sp5?
 

XWRed1

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2001
You don't need to buy and install VB6 or MSDN docs to install and run VS6.
 

Krieger

Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2002
Location
North of Boston, MA
VS6.0 contains all the microsoft platform IDE's and Compilers(including VB6) and if you have all the disks... one(or 2)of them is the MSDN disk(s). Which I highly recommend you install if you are going to be using it. It has a ton of info you might need.
 

Krieger

Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2002
Location
North of Boston, MA
I would not really worry about it. I've used it on machines running from 266mhz with 32 megs(a little slow) to brand new systems. There really are no requirements. Just bare in mind that the more files you open the more ram you are going to use up. It can get pretty hairy when debugging a tier-n application that has alot of classes, modules, and forms.
 

AltecXP

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2002
im asking cuz im in the market for a used lap top i want to run win2k, office2k and vb6.0
 

moorcito

Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2002
Location
Chicago, IL
im asking cuz im in the market for a used lap top i want to run win2k, office2k and vb6.0

I have a friend who has a laptop, P-133MMX w/ 32mb ram, who runs win98 and VS6.0.

I'm not sure how it would run with win2k, but he hasn't complained yet. So, I'm pretty sure that you are safe with anything.