• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

VM Problem

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dylskee

Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2005
Location
Central MA
I decided to put one of my older computers to use and start folding with it. It's also running Windows 7 so I installed VMware player and started setting it up and I'm having trouble with the very first step. I've already updated and installed VMware tools. I open a terminal and pasted "sudo apt-get install ia32-libs" and I keep getting this error message. What am I missing here?
 

Attachments

  • ss.png
    ss.png
    98.4 KB · Views: 178

Automata

Destroyer of Empires and Use
Joined
May 15, 2006
See if you can do the "sudo apt-get update" first, if it fails to download, you may have the network setup wrong for the VM itself. If it downloads, it should pull the packages with "sudo apt-get install ia32-libs".
 
OP
dylskee

dylskee

Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2005
Location
Central MA
Did you try...

sudo apt-get update

...first?
Yes, it does that step just fine. :shrug:

See if you can do the "sudo apt-get update" first, if it fails to download, you may have the network setup wrong for the VM itself. If it downloads, it should pull the packages with "sudo apt-get install ia32-libs".

Still getting the error message. I just tried from the beginning again too.
 

{PMS}fishy

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2001
What does "apt-cache search ia32-libs" return? Also, "cat /etc/apt/sources.list"
 
OP
dylskee

dylskee

Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2005
Location
Central MA
What does "apt-cache search ia32-libs" return? Also, "cat /etc/apt/sources.list"
The apt-cache search ia32-libs didn't return anything, just brought me back to the same directory.
Here's what returned for apt-cache search ia32-libs
Code:
[email protected]:~$ apt-cache search ia32-libs
[email protected]:~$ cat /etc/apt/sources.list
#deb cdrom:[Ubuntu 9.04 _Jaunty Jackalope_ - Release i386 (20090420.1)]/ jaunty main restricted
# See http://help.ubuntu.com/community/UpgradeNotes for how to upgrade to
# newer versions of the distribution.

deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ jaunty main restricted
deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ jaunty main restricted

## Major bug fix updates produced after the final release of the
## distribution.
deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ jaunty-updates main restricted
deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ jaunty-updates main restricted

## N.B. software from this repository is ENTIRELY UNSUPPORTED by the Ubuntu
## team. Also, please note that software in universe WILL NOT receive any
## review or updates from the Ubuntu security team.
deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ jaunty universe
deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ jaunty universe
deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ jaunty-updates universe
deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ jaunty-updates universe

## N.B. software from this repository is ENTIRELY UNSUPPORTED by the Ubuntu 
## team, and may not be under a free licence. Please satisfy yourself as to 
## your rights to use the software. Also, please note that software in 
## multiverse WILL NOT receive any review or updates from the Ubuntu
## security team.
deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ jaunty multiverse
deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ jaunty multiverse
deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ jaunty-updates multiverse
deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ jaunty-updates multiverse

## Uncomment the following two lines to add software from the 'backports'
## repository.
## N.B. software from this repository may not have been tested as
## extensively as that contained in the main release, although it includes
## newer versions of some applications which may provide useful features.
## Also, please note that software in backports WILL NOT receive any review
## or updates from the Ubuntu security team.
# deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ jaunty-backports main restricted universe multiverse
# deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ jaunty-backports main restricted universe multiverse

## Uncomment the following two lines to add software from Canonical's
## 'partner' repository.
## This software is not part of Ubuntu, but is offered by Canonical and the
## respective vendors as a service to Ubuntu users.
# deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu jaunty partner
# deb-src http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu jaunty partner

deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu jaunty-security main restricted
deb-src http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu jaunty-security main restricted
deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu jaunty-security universe
deb-src http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu jaunty-security universe
deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu jaunty-security multiverse
deb-src http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu jaunty-security multiverse
[email protected]:~$
 

ihrsetrdr

Señor Senior Member
Joined
May 17, 2005
Location
Close to the San Andreas Fault
The ia32-libs has been included in the past several Ubuntu versions, so no need to install them anymore.

From your "cat /etc/apt/sources.list" terminal output I see:
Code:
#deb cdrom:[Ubuntu 9.04 _Jaunty Jackalope_ - Release i386 (20090420.1)]/ jaunty main restricted

which suggests that you're not using the 64 bit version of Ubuntu 9.04 in your VM.
 
OP
dylskee

dylskee

Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2005
Location
Central MA
:(

Edit: Ubuntu 9.04 -desktop-amd64.iso




No 64 bit hardware support? Aw shoot. :(

No, this is one of my old setups that was collecting dust in the basement so I dusted it off and added it to the fold. I'm hoping to add another i7 to the fold by the summer. Work just started picking up a bit but I have to see if it will continue so I can get my overtime back. I've been on 40 hours for a year now! The past 19 years I've been putting in 52 hours so I had a little money to put away each week, not the case anymore..... :cry:
 

ihrsetrdr

Señor Senior Member
Joined
May 17, 2005
Location
Close to the San Andreas Fault
No, this is one of my old setups that was collecting dust in the basement so I dusted it off and added it to the fold. I'm hoping to add another i7 to the fold by the summer. Work just started picking up a bit but I have to see if it will continue so I can get my overtime back. I've been on 40 hours for a year now! The past 19 years I've been putting in 52 hours so I had a little money to put away each week, not the case anymore..... :cry:

Pande Group made the decision years ago that they were not going to spend the effort to write a client for 32 bit Linux; instead they figured a bigger payout would be to look to the future and go with 64 bit support.

...I sold off my beloved Dell dually Xeon for that reason. :eh?:

ChasR said:
9.10 doesn't need ia32-libs

So on 9.10 skip the install of this?

Yes.
 
Last edited:
OP
dylskee

dylskee

Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2005
Location
Central MA
Wow, I can't believe how slow this computer is running these WUs. I'm running an Intel S775 P4 550 3.4GHz on an Asus P5WD2 Premium with 2GB PC2-6400 Ram and a 1760 pointer's ETA is 11.03.36.40. Really?? The deadline is 3 days so this is pointless. I'm going to shut this one down and just wait for another i7 build in a few months.

On a side note, I just noticed something different on my main folding rig. Using HFM my cpu used to always show a blue progress bar and when hovering on it it would say "Running Async" I noticed today that it's green and just says "Running." Whats the difference between the two?
 

ChasR

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2004
Location
Atlanta
"Running Async" means the clock on the machine you're monitoring is out of sync with the machine HFM is running on. If you have a FAH client running in Player 3.0.0 VM and haven't installed VMware tools, it's likely to be out of sync with the host in a matter of a few hours after a reboot.