• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

VTT mod for nf7-s v2

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

djsynthesis

Registered
Joined
Jun 26, 2004
Hey all,

How necessary is a vtt mod if I'm running my vdimm at 3.3v? I've heard that it increases stability, but do you always need it?

Thanks :)
 

oc613

Member
Joined
May 13, 2004
Location
canada
djsynthesis said:
Hey all,

How necessary is a vtt mod if I'm running my vdimm at 3.3v? I've heard that it increases stability, but do you always need it?

Thanks :)


from what i've read it's very necessary to see great improvement. with 3.3 vdimm you need 1.65. DDR works on both the rising and the falling, so with 1.65 the voltage only has to "travel" 1.65 in either direction to make it to 3.3 as the current alternates. if it was stock, say at 1.45, it would need to go 1.85 in one direction and 1.45 in the other, which as i understand is out of JDEC standards.


anyways, in short, yes, you need to do it.

perhaps someone else can explain the above better than i can :)

:beer:
 

oc613

Member
Joined
May 13, 2004
Location
canada
djsynthesis said:
Hey all,

How necessary is a vtt mod if I'm running my vdimm at 3.3v? I've heard that it increases stability, but do you always need it?

Thanks :)


from what i've read it's very necessary to see great improvement. with 3.3 vdimm you need 1.65. DDR works on both the rising and the falling, so with 1.65 the voltage only has to "travel" 1.65 in either direction to make it to 3.3 as the current alternates. if it was stock, say at 1.45, it would need to go 1.85 in one direction and 1.45 in the other, which as i understand is out of JDEC standards.


anyways, in short, yes, you need to do it.

perhaps someone else can explain the above better than i can :)

:beer:
 

oc613

Member
Joined
May 13, 2004
Location
canada
well that was weird....

anyways, do not do tictacs way.

use a VR and cut the trace.

too many mobos have been killed by tictacs method.
 

oc613

Member
Joined
May 13, 2004
Location
canada
Tekko said:
got a linky to that?


vtt-track.jpg


:clap:
 

JoT

You can't fire me, I have
Joined
Jun 3, 2002
I think I'd rather do something a little less impossible to repair, than cut my traces ;)
 

pwnt by pat

Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2003
Location
Cranberry Twp. PA
Cmon dude, repairing traces is EASY.

that one especially, it's at least 1/16" wide, you would need to be blind not to be able to do it (comes from repairing set of 1/64" traces)

It's easy!
1. clear off whole surface
2. get single strand of copper wire
3. tin the wire
4. tin the joint to be soldered
5. hold the wire down and tack it in one spot
6. tack opposite side
7. solder in place
8. crack a 'dew, and enjoy your freshly repaired trace!
 

ZachM

Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2003
Could you link to some accounts of tictac's method killing boards? Is it just from a bad solder job, or does the mod change something that it shouldn't? I was planning on getting an OCZ DDR booster when they come out. I wanted to use Tictac's vtt mod because it looks like a fairly simple solder job.
 

JoT

You can't fire me, I have
Joined
Jun 3, 2002
pwnt by pat said:
Cmon dude, repairing traces is EASY.

that one especially, it's at least 1/16" wide, you would need to be blind not to be able to do it (comes from repairing set of 1/64" traces)

It's easy!
1. clear off whole surface
2. get single strand of copper wire
3. tin the wire
4. tin the joint to be soldered
5. hold the wire down and tack it in one spot
6. tack opposite side
7. solder in place
8. crack a 'dew, and enjoy your freshly repaired trace!
I'm not blind, but my hands are incredibly unsteady, so it would be a bad idea to try and cut a trace (for me). Soldering isn't so bad, if you screw up a little bit, you can generally fix that mistake, but if you slip cutting traces, you could destroy your whole board.