• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Water-cooling a TNT2 Vanta...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Nick C

Registered
Joined
Jul 20, 2001
Maybe someone else here has water cooled one... I can't think of how, considering that there are no holes to mount one with... would epoxy do the trick?
-nick
 

jeff_harrison_344

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2001
Even watercooling a Geforce3 is overkill, dont even get me started on watercooling a TNT Vanta! :)

Really tho, my advice to you, either get a WAY better video card, then maybe it would be worth some serious cooling, or just leave it as is. Even if you did spend tons a $$$ for watercooling, you would get about 25MHz more outta it, thereforce giving you about an extra 5-7 FPS. Do yourself a HUGE favour, spend the video watercooling money youve saved, and buy a Geforce2 Por 64mbDDR, or if possible, a G3.
 

TranceBear

Big Daddy Bear Senior
Joined
May 16, 2001
Location
Denver, CO
Nick C (Jul 29, 2001 10:16 p.m.):
Maybe someone else here has water cooled one... I can't think of how, considering that there are no holes to mount one with... would epoxy do the trick?
-nick

But why?, I had that same card and it seems not to be worth the bother, but if you insist they do make a thermal epoxy. I think Artic Silver does.
 

Mord-Sith

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2001
The water cooling rig is going to caust more than a new and way better vid card.

Example (cheapest possible effective water cooling rig)

Pump: $30
Radiator $30
Block $30 ($20 if you make your own)
Tubing screws nuts (or as epoxy) $20
Resevoir $10

Ok under best case senerio the cheapest your looing at is about $110

you can get a geforce2 GTS 32mb card for $103

So the question is not how but why?

Of course this is all moot if you already have the water cooling rig and just want to attach it to that card so you can see how fast it will go before it fries.
 
OP
N

Nick C

Registered
Joined
Jul 20, 2001
I Have the system already... and am going to get a new GF3 when the prices fall a little. And, yes, I'm gonna try to fry it by overclocking it to max ;)
-nick
 

Mord-Sith

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2001
ok now your talking... I would get just put the block on by using a little silcone around on the corners. That will give you a nice solid connection but it will come off when you fry the board.

:) have fun
 

Pinky

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2001
Location
Narf City, USA
Nick C (Jul 29, 2001 11:40 p.m.):
I Have the system already... and am going to get a new GF3 when the prices fall a little. And, yes, I'm gonna try to fry it by overclocking it to max ;)
-nick

Well, in that case, I want to put a 427 4 barrel big block into a Pinto, get her rattling apart at about 145MPH, and throw her in reverse!!

Seriously, that's what you're doing :).