• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

water cooling for the first time

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

RJ

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2001
Location
Michigan ,USA
well I finally did it went to watercooling! And my temps havent changed a bit?? I have a maze2 block , 2 120mm cooling fans,3.5x5.5x12 cooler,eiheim 315gph pump with a 1 gallon reserve, purple ice,distilled water,arctic silver,I even lapped the maze2,that I must say was pretty warped for being CNC'ed. And after all that the temps are no better than with the swiftech MC462. The temps are 42*c right now on the net and running under a load 44*c,Whats the deal did I miss something?The case is even open right now and nothing changes.
 

AMDGuy

Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2001
The swiftech 462 is a stout air cooling solution, but I'd think you'd do a little better with water. I just went to water cooling last week and noticed a huge difference in temp on my Duron 650 @ 800. Under air I was around 43 C under normal working load, and now I hover between 30 C and 31 C.

What radiator did you use? Are you sure the water block is mounted correctly and firmly contacting the block? I'm not familiar with your pump, but if it's an inline unit, air bubbles trapped in the lines can cause higher temps so you may want to check that.

Let me know answers to these quesitons and I'll try to help further.
 
OP
RJ

RJ

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2001
Location
Michigan ,USA
Thanks for the reply, I bled the system of all bubbles, and I took the block off to check if making contact and it is. The cooler is an automotive cooler for oil/transmission up to 450 hp so the cooler should be suffeciant.The pump i may have spelled it wrong eheim 1248.This is really bumming me out!!
 

Tacoman667

Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2001
Location
Kingwood, TX
Is your radiator mounted in a way that its siphoning air from the hot inside of the case or the cooler air outside the case? That makes a BIG difference. My dangerden cube is inside my case pulling about half outside air and half case air and look at my temps. I need to get some more tubing so that I can put my radiator outside my case and I will see even cooler temps. What water block do you use and do you have a copper block/aluminum radiator going on?
 
OP
RJ

RJ

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2001
Location
Michigan ,USA
All equiptment is external and the air is drawn in from the outside. I have a dangerden maze2 block and a becooling MBO block, a enheim 315 gph pump inside the reservoire with the water going in the radiator after the pump so its cooling the water after the reservoir,2 x120mm fans. Right now on the net its at 43*c a little high I would say.The The block is making good contact with the chip, that was the first thing I checked but I think I will check it again. I cant believe how warped the block was when I started lapping it.It is alot quieter though!!!The MC462 is sweet but noisy even with the rheostat on it.please keep the suggestion coming.
 

Tacoman667

Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2001
Location
Kingwood, TX
What is the temperature in the room that the computer is in? I keep my room temps around 70F. I have a 120mm YS-Tech fan sucking air outta my radiator at 131cfm. Fan only cost me about 13 bucks. Best fan I ever used. Try a better fan. Another thing, make sure there are NO kinks in your tubing to inhibit the flow of the water. I have the Eheim 1250 hobby pump 315gph running in my system with about 2 1/2-3 feet of tubing and I can keep very nice temps. these are things you need to think about too. If you have a resavoir, then make sure it's nice and big<1 gallon would be fine and a little smaller is ok too> and have your pump in it to suck the water in. Do not put an adapter on the intake on the pump, that caused me to suck less water through my system.
 

[Oc]acaridans

Senior Member
Joined
May 11, 2001
Im a little confised with the way you have your setup running. Is it

res/pump>>>radiator>>>maze>>>res/pump ?

if it is try arraging it to

res/pump>>>maze>>>radiator>>>res/pump
this way usually works better
 
OP
RJ

RJ

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2001
Location
Michigan ,USA
I'm running reservoir to radiator to maze2 back to reservoir cuz I read that its better that way cuz it cools the water that the pump heats. I also reversed the direction of the fans,so that they suck air in instead of blowing, but that did not make any difference. 40*c as I write :-( also does anybody think that cuz I'm running a MBO cooling block too that that might be my prob? It's after the maze2. MBO temp is 29*c now, Is that about right for a water cooled MBO chip?
 

Thelemac

Administratively Deficient
Joined
Mar 15, 2001
Did you case temps change when you installed the watercooling? That would definately lead to that problem. My case temps went up about 10C when I put mine in...course, mine's all internal, but it made it look like I only got about a 4C difference in temps, when I really got like 14C.

Also, do you have your fans set up so that one is on each side of the radiator? If you do, make sure that you have one blowing and one sucking, otherwise the radiator isn't really getting any air going through it (some, but no much).
 
OP
RJ

RJ

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2001
Location
Michigan ,USA
My case temps are the same about 5* hoter than ambient. I have both 120mm fan running side by side on the radiator.
 
OP
RJ

RJ

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2001
Location
Michigan ,USA
I totally disassembled the cooling system reassembled it turned the fans around ,rearranged the hoses,no kinks,block is making contact with chip,I cant figure this one out. If all I'm going to gain is quiet I think I'm going to put the MC462 back on and get lower temps.I put temp probed on the hose going in and coming out of the cpu block temp going in is 74.5*f coming out is 77.5*f .Ambient is 72.5*f,case is 75.5*f. what next?









8
 

AMDGuy

Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2001
RJ (Jun 11, 2001 08:30 a.m.):
I totally disassembled the cooling system reassembled it turned the fans around ,rearranged the hoses,no kinks,block is making contact with chip,I cant figure this one out. If all I'm going to gain is quiet I think I'm going to put the MC462 back on and get lower temps.I put temp probed on the hose going in and coming out of the cpu block temp going in is 74.5*f coming out is 77.5*f .Ambient is 72.5*f,case is 75.5*f. what next?

How many GPH is your pump rates at? If it's up around 300GPH then I'd say slow the water down as it goes through the radiator. I recently tested this and realized a 2 C drop in CPU temps. My Maxijet 1200 is 295GPH. I put a loop (see post Slowing Water down in Watercooling Works!) before the water enters the radiator. Others had suggested this might help temps so I tested it and it did. The loop slows the water down thus giving the radiator more time to cool it.









8
 
OP
RJ

RJ

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2001
Location
Michigan ,USA
Thanks for the reply my pump is 315gph I cant seem to find that post u were talking about can u give me an idea where it is? I am also going to convert it to an inline instead of submersible see if that may cure a few things
 

AMDGuy

Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2001
RJ (Jun 11, 2001 09:50 a.m.):
Thanks for the reply my pump is 315gph I cant seem to find that post u were talking about can u give me an idea where it is? I am also going to convert it to an inline instead of submersible see if that may cure a few things

My post on slowing down the water is here.


If you have a smaller radiator (like I do) then it needs more time to cool the water. I'd stick with a submersible pump. Inlines produce less heat, but air bubbles in the lines can wreak havoc on cooling.
 
OP
RJ

RJ

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2001
Location
Michigan ,USA
Thanks, I rigged up something kinda like thermostat .that I'm going to install in the return line it will restrict the water volumn coming from the cpu block, hey its worth a shot.it will reduce the hose down to a 1/4 inch shouldnt add to much pressure. It works on the same princible as an auto thermostat.
 
OP
RJ

RJ

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2001
Location
Michigan ,USA
hey amdguy your setup looks just like mine,however I switched my hose routing to res>chip>radiator>res.I had it the same as u but someone told me that it was the wrong way, I changed but it did not make a difference.Thanks for all your help
 

Tacoman667

Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2001
Location
Kingwood, TX
Once the water cooling starts getting your temps down to ambient levels, your system temps will drop drastically. My system temps went from 34C down to 23C now. My CPU runs at 28 load and my PSU is the only fluxuating temp in the whole case. Go resuvoir, waterblock, radiator, then resuvoir again. If your intake and outtake temps on your radiator do not have a more significant temp difference, something is wrong with your radiator. Make sure all the fins on it are properly installed, check to make sure you have enough air running through it, and hell, you might even need a different radiator for it to work. I have the DD cube and a 315gph Eheim 1250 hobby pump and I stay at these low temps.
 

AMDGuy

Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2001
Tacoman667 (Jun 11, 2001 12:20 p.m.):
Once the water cooling starts getting your temps down to ambient levels, your system temps will drop drastically. My system temps went from 34C down to 23C now. My CPU runs at 28 load and my PSU is the only fluxuating temp in the whole case. Go resuvoir, waterblock, radiator, then resuvoir again. If your intake and outtake temps on your radiator do not have a more significant temp difference, something is wrong with your radiator. Make sure all the fins on it are properly installed, check to make sure you have enough air running through it, and hell, you might even need a different radiator for it to work. I have the DD cube and a 315gph Eheim 1250 hobby pump and I stay at these low temps.

23C and 28C?? What's the ambient? What's the room temp?? My room is 25C and ambient is 28-29C. You must have to put a sweater on to sit in the room with your PC LOL.
 

JoeCrappa

Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2001
Location
Union City, CA
most likely it is your block orientation. how tight is your block? also do you have the water inlet above the CPU? any arctic silver? or compound? do you still have your pads on the CPU? do you have a copper shim on there? if your pads are on then TAKE THEM OFF and you'll get better temps guaranteed. i know this can be dangerous but if you get a shim then it could be safer or do what this guy did here Bunker Mentallity. Please email me and i'll try to help you out. im sure this problem concerns me as much as it concerns you.