• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Water cooling system with Peltier thermoelectric support

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Deous

Registered
Just posting brand new fresh thread pertaining to usage of Peltier in water cooled PC system.
I am building WC system where Peltier is used not as a complete heat exchange module but a heat transporter device that transports heat from the running loop. The PT cooled systems I saw are terribly designed - they put whole delta heat load on the PT which is from the beginning an insulator between CPU and dissipator in such loop. I studied termodynamics btw
I described it on some other forums. Anyways, Peltiers are so cheap it is just worth implementing them into pc water coolers.
Also such system needs at least one advanced thermostat with temp. range control - about $2 in China )
I'll post when I finish building that cooler

TEC's may be cheap themselves, but everything else you need to run them starts to add up. They are the most inefficient way to cool a loop.
Still, I'm interested. Pics?

I'm sure you're well aware of the power demands a Peltier requires. Sometimes it's not cost effective to create a Peltier cooling system as it will need a dedicated power source just for the pelts. I know, I had built several and back then the power supply to feed the pelts wasn't exactly cheap. Next you will need a hefty radiator(s) just to pull the heat away from the hot side of the peltier and depending on how many peltiers you will be using the heat generated from them will be quite substantial.

I'm with Scotty, I wanna see pics also.

TEC's may be cheap themselves, but everything else you need to run them starts to add up. They are the most inefficient way to cool a loop.
Still, I'm interested. Pics?