• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

watercooling geting started questions - I'm new to H2O

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Robbiem01

How much will it cost to get me started watercooling. I dont want to buy the cheepest stuff because I will prob just end up upgrading it if that happens. Please tell me everything that is on your watercooling wish-list so I dont have to buy two of every part.

Also, please explain or link me to a page that shows all the diff ways to water cool. I dont understand all this stuff you guys are talking about when I read the watercooling posts. Whats a radiator, block, tank, bong...? This sounds like a great summer project and I think i'd be willing to get started if I knew it would improve temps and be quiet. Also, why do some watercooling setups have 3 or 4 fans? That kinda defeats the purpose of quiet doesn't it?

Thanks in advance for all the help

Diggrr

Underwater Senior Member
Hey Robbiem01.

My wish list includes (or would, because I already watercool);
Eheim 1048 waterpump....www.DangerDen.com
HeaterCore (radiator).......DangerDen (prefab) or AutoZone (mefab)
Silicone 1/2" or 3/8" tubing..........DangerDen or www.McMaster.com
4"x4"x4" plastic project box from Home Depot for use as a reservior.
Gemini Waterblock...........www.geminicool.com

As for what all the pieces are, there are heaps of articles accessable from the front page www.overclockers.com >tips&tecniques>watercooling.

To direct link a couple, there's Bongs and a good article on Radiators. One replaces the other, depending on what you want your system to be...portable, low maintenence or fixed in place with lower temperatures.