• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Waterflow going down

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dima202

New Member
Joined
May 25, 2016
I built a watercooling rig with flow meter.
At first, while bleeding the loop I noticed waterflow around 2.4L/m
Now 1 day later I am seeing 1.7L/m dipping down to 1.6L/m

This is running res -> pump -> dual radiator -> GFX 7970 -> triple radiator -> CPU -> res

What could be causing such poor flow?
should I get a new pump?

http://imgur.com/a/AbsZI

1683 is Flow measured in ml/m

12h later back up to 1.9L/m.. still well below the recommended 3.8L/m mark
 

Attachments

  • 20160525_014117.jpg
    20160525_014117.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 82
  • Capture.JPG
    Capture.JPG
    63.5 KB · Views: 83
Last edited:

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Im guessing you have it on a header that is adjusting the voltage/PWM... See if you can adjust that SYS FAN where it is plugged into to run at a constant speed (in the BIOS).
 
OP
D

dima202

New Member
Joined
May 25, 2016
What's your flowmeter?
If you click on imgurl link you can see it clearer. It's going from GPU to 360 RAD on top
http://www.performance-pcs.com/koolance-ins-fm17n-coolant-flow-meter-no-nozzles.html

Im guessing you have it on a header that is adjusting the voltage/PWM... See if you can adjust that SYS FAN where it is plugged into to run at a constant speed (in the BIOS).
Regarding PWM, no this is manual speed unit, I keep it on highest setting.

I'm mostly hovering around 1.9L/m now (1/2 the recommended amount)
Do not think it will get any higher than this.
 

Attachments

  • Capture3.JPG
    Capture3.JPG
    8.7 KB · Views: 66
Last edited:

Lochekey

Senior Pink Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2015
Did you clean all of the components (especially the radiator) really well before assembling the loop?
 

caddi daddi

Godzilla to ant hills
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
looks like a d5 vario pump that plugs into a molex.
take a tooth pick and see if you can push the terminals into the molex connector, I have had a number of them just not making good contact inside of the connector.
if that's all good it might be time to pull the whole system down and clean it all out.
 

GTXJackBauer

Water Cooling Senior Member, #TEAMH20HNO
Joined
May 22, 2011
Location
USA
I agree with the rest of the members. It looks like you have some blockage of some sort or the pump isn't pumping enough with those readings. My pump atm calm is at 3.1 LPM or 0.8 GPM. You're getting awful flow for a D5 pump at setting 5 (max) unless there might be a mix up and its set at setting 1 (lowest).
 
OP
D

dima202

New Member
Joined
May 25, 2016
This has been running for years..
I suspected flow might be low, but flow meter proved it.

When installing everything I did put water through and try to shake any lose metal inside radiators & water blocks.
I understand that I will need to disassemble everything and test each component for flow loss. What device can I use to read flow meter cheaply?
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!

Flat-6

Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2015
Location
Australia
Check the cpu block first as these have the finest fins and therefore act as a bit of a filter/trap for debris to build up on.
 
OP
D

dima202

New Member
Joined
May 25, 2016
Did not do test yet.
I ordered another D5 pump. (Should arrive today)
-Even if current pump is fine, it's good to have extra pump ready to go.

I will start working on this when I have new pump in my hands.
Water flow dropped again down to 1.6L/m and approaching 1.5L/m. (Makes me think it's the pump)
 

Attachments

  • chart.JPG
    chart.JPG
    46.8 KB · Views: 43

GTXJackBauer

Water Cooling Senior Member, #TEAMH20HNO
Joined
May 22, 2011
Location
USA
Can't say for sure until you investigate the loop. Need a break down. For all we know its blockage. Same thing happened to me a while back.