• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SOLVED Web Based vs Local Application Speed Tests

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

googalabosh

Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2012
Location
Colorado
I've recently discovered a big issue between running speed test via web based applications and local applications. I've tested many brands and have come up with the same results but I will focus on Ookla for this post.

When I run the tests online I get between 100 Mbps and 200 Mbps. But when I run the downloaded applications I easily get over 800 Mbps. I am paying for the 800 Mbps Xfinity plan.

I have tried different browsers as well as adjusting throttling speeds in Chrome. No matter what I do, I continue to get sub 200 Mbps with online speed testers.

Attached are my Ookla screen shots for the web based and local applications. You can also see that I used the same server as well (Baltimore, MD Comcast).

Can anyone explain this to me?

TIA

My setup:

-Comcast Cable

-Arris G36 Gateway

-TP-LINK 24 port gigabit Ethernet unmanaged switch

-Trendnet 16 port unshielded patch panel

-Cat 6 cable

-Both computers are connected via ethernet

WebBased.png
LocalApp.png
 
Last edited:
Solution
How I fixed my BitDefender Firewall slowing down my browser speeds:


1. Open the Bitdefender window.

2. Click Protection on the left-hand side.

3. In the Firewall panel, click the switch to turn on Firewall.

4. Click the Settings button on the Firewall pane.

5. In this window, select the Settings tab.

6. Go to Port scan protection and click the switch to turn it OFF.

7. Click Edit stealth settings next to Stealth Mode.

8. Set the switch corresponding to your network adapter to OFF, then press OK.

9. Now access the Network Adapters tab.

10. Click the box corresponding to your...

spiritedandy

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2003
Location
Middlesbrough
Wow i have no idea interesting though :unsure: has to be sensible reason surely
Post magically merged:

What broadband speed do you have . And looks like both are Mbps i dont know different measurement
Post magically merged:

I get same C4907F63-B565-40F5-BE1A-AC16DE792D38.png FC0AC9E3-A5A9-4B96-9D3F-8816D0D8BFC2.png C4907F63-B565-40F5-BE1A-AC16DE792D38.png
 
Last edited:

spiritedandy

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2003
Location
Middlesbrough
At a loss I also tried on 2 other comps sisters and friends and same result . No difference .
Are you running at different settings something like that
Post magically merged:

Try different speed test and post results ?
 
OP
googalabosh

googalabosh

Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2012
Location
Colorado
At a loss I also tried on 2 other comps sisters and friends and same result . No difference .
Are you running at different settings something like that
Post magically merged:

Try different speed test and post results ?
I did try others with same results. I can do them again and post screenshots later but they are the same as the previous ones.
 

The_Jizzler

Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2003
Not sure how the two methods compare really but I am wondering if there is some https/http filtering or bandwidth throttling going on in your network. The program may connect via diff protocol than https/http that sidesteps the throttling. If it is a throttle, where is it coming from, local or upstream? When running the test watch you nic graph in task manager. Do you see a sawtooth pattern of spikes and dips or is it a solid line across?
 
OP
googalabosh

googalabosh

Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2012
Location
Colorado
UPDATE:

I reset my TCP/IP settings with the following commands:

  • Type netsh winsock reset and press Enter.
  • Type netsh int ip reset and press Enter.
  • Type ipconfig /release and press Enter.
  • Type ipconfig /renew and press Enter.
  • Type ipconfig /flushdns and press Enter.
IT 100% WORKED! I'm now seeing the full 800+ Mbps. Not sure why it worked but it did. If anyone knows why this worked I'd love to learn. :)
Post magically merged:

OK...I completely take it back. It worked for a moment and now I'm back to 200 Mbps. What?!
 
OP
googalabosh

googalabosh

Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2012
Location
Colorado
UPDATE! PROBLEM FOUND. NOW SHOULD I FIX IT AND HOW?

I've finally found the problem: my firewall!

I have Bitdefender for my virus/firewall protection. I turned off the firewall and started getting 800+ numbers. I tested this multiple times with the firewall off and on and proved it definitely is my firewall.

Now, the follow up questions:

1) Should I care that my firewall is somehow throttling my speeds in my browser?

2) How can I fix this without during off my firewall?
 

The_Jizzler

Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2003
Firewall is probably inspecting all the encrypted traffic and that's the overhead from decrypting- inspecting- reassembling the packets. Is there an option for https/http filtering or inspection?
 
OP
googalabosh

googalabosh

Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2012
Location
Colorado
Firewall is probably inspecting all the encrypted traffic and that's the overhead from decrypting- inspecting- reassembling the packets. Is there an option for https/http filtering or inspection?
That was one of my thoughts as well. But why would the firewall be so slow analyzing traffic in the browser compared to other apps/programs?
 

Janus67

Benching Team Leader
Joined
May 29, 2005
That was one of my thoughts as well. But why would the firewall be so slow analyzing traffic in the browser compared to other apps/programs?

Possibly just being coded to do deep packet inspection from browsers. Did you try other download sites like I mentioned like fast.com or dslreports.com ?
 

don256us

Uber Folding Senior
Joined
Jul 17, 2003
Until I read the whole thing I was going to suggest looking at AV or other software that you may have running. firewall completely fits my thoughts even if I didn't think of that software speciffically. I'm glad that you found the issue.

For any future googelers who may happen upon this thread, the more you inspect packets, the more power you need to keep bandwidth up.
 
OP
googalabosh

googalabosh

Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2012
Location
Colorado
How I fixed my BitDefender Firewall slowing down my browser speeds:


1. Open the Bitdefender window.

2. Click Protection on the left-hand side.

3. In the Firewall panel, click the switch to turn on Firewall.

4. Click the Settings button on the Firewall pane.

5. In this window, select the Settings tab.

6. Go to Port scan protection and click the switch to turn it OFF.

7. Click Edit stealth settings next to Stealth Mode.

8. Set the switch corresponding to your network adapter to OFF, then press OK.

9. Now access the Network Adapters tab.

10. Click the box corresponding to your network adapter and select Home/Office.

11. Close Bitdefender, restart the PC, and check if the Internet connection speed has improved.
 
Solution