Weird black line on screen.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

TickleMyElmo

Member
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2011
I at first thought it might be a dead pixel but I realized I could open it up and move it, only to the left though. I have included some pictures. Hope all of you guys have been well. Screenshot (1).png Screenshot (2).png Screenshot (4).png
Does anyone know what this could be?
 

dejo

Senior Moment Senior Member
 
 
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2001
have you tried to reseat the card and cables at both ends (card and monitor)? I have seen some artifacts from a bad connection
 

TickleMyElmo

Member
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2011
I've tried the cables. I'll try resitting the gpu. I am using a phanteks vertical mount which might be the problem. Let you know in a bit.
 

TickleMyElmo

Member
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2011
Tried reseating the gpu, didn't work. It's either the monitor, gpu, or the riser cable. If it's the riser cable I'll just deal with it for now. Horizontal gpu just don't look right to me in the o11-Dynamic. Any other ideas?
 

TickleMyElmo

Member
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2011
malwarebytes and kaspersky found nothing and i have kaspersky on the highest alert setting. i just redid my whole installation about 3 months ago.
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
 
 
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
AFAIK, monitors themselves (nor gpus) can make expandable-by-mouse windows/dialog boxes... that has to be software of some sort... malware or something. Physical connections or riser cards, I can't imagine have anything to do with it. If it was an artifact, you couldn't manipulate it like that onscreen(?).

if you have a spare drive laying around, disconnect all your current drives and throw fresh windows on it. If it's gone, you know something on that install is the problem.

Or test the gpu in another pc...

...have you tried a driver wipe with ddu and use different drivers?
 
Last edited:

Johan45

Benching Team Leader Super Moderator
 
 
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
What kind of ASUS software is installed. I personally don't use any but I do install for reviews and some of them open a small window in that vicinity at start up, haven't noticed it hanging around though
 

TickleMyElmo

Member
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2011
****, I'll just wipe everything. I have all my important stuff on a external hard drive. I really need help for my porn addiction. Please hollar if you been through this.

- - - Auto-Merged Double Post - - -

No asus programs, anymore. I was using the new asus aura, but i deleted it and all of it's regs.
 

dejo

Senior Moment Senior Member
 
 
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2001
I thought it was the blob in the same area as the box
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
 
 
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
As I'm reading it, I think the blob turned into the box, by his hand(?). If not and the problem is actually the blob, that opens up the GPU/hardware to be at fault again.
 

TickleMyElmo

Member
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2011
it's a very small black line that appears in the same spot after reset. I can click on on it and open a window. The window will only go left but I can drag it make it as big as the screen. Earthdog - There is no blob. Just a constant black line that I can open it as a box with the cursor, only open it left and there is no "X" to close it.

illuminati man
 
Last edited by a moderator:

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
 
 
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Yep. I get it. In the images it's a line with some shading around it and looks like a bit like a blob...especially if you don't blow it up full screen.

Thanks for clarifying the problem... this would more than likely be software-related.

Did you try different drivers? That's going to be less time consuming then blowing your OS out of the water...
 

Zuzzz

Premium Member
 
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2003
Check any software like keyboard and mouse etc.... I have seen Razer glitch out like this before. No matter what its a softwarre glitch. Look in your Task manager and see if its listed and perhaps what it is. My 2 cents


Z
 

TickleMyElmo

Member
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2011
just updated my nvidia drivers. still there. i'll sift through software and see what happens
 

wagex

Chapstick Eating Premium Member
 
 
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2011
just updated my nvidia drivers. still there. i'll sift through software and see what happens

it's not drivers or anything, it's a gui for some software that has to be drawing it on the screen..... wipe the pc and start over, or start uninstalling stuff till it goes away.
 

don256us

Uber Folding Senior
 
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2003
I agree that this is software related. I would be inclined to belive that it is malware of some sort until proven otherwise.

I've never heard of something like this from the monitor side. If thre is something like that, see if the menue offers a reset. If you aren't going to reinstall your OS from scratch, you could go into processes and shut them down one by one until the box goes away.
 

Nebulous

Señor Senior, Senior
 
 
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2002
Location
The Empire State
Have you tried using the monitor on another pc? Got a different monitor to use to test the gpu?

Also leave the blob alone, she's a good girl.
 

dejo

Senior Moment Senior Member
 
 
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2001
I have an HP elite desk that does some "magic" with lines all the way down the screen when connected with an old vga cable. Wondering what connection you are using