• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Weird Font / Text when using 144hz BenQ XL2730Z

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Gh0sT-NoVa

For some weird reason, it happened out of no where. I've been using this BenQ XL2730Z monitor for almost 3 Years now. All sudden today, whether in some sites like Facebook, or my Desktop, Windows Browser in general. My Fonts / Texts become a weird dark bold color. It became really hard to read, the Fonts / Texts seems blurry...

Funny thing is what I found out is that if I switch it to 1440p @ 60hz, the Fonts / Texts become normal like before. But my screen will flicker and flash like mad.
So I try lowering to to 1080p at 144hz it becomes normal, If I use 60hz @ 1080p it will flicker and flashes like mad as well. But my monitor is a 1440p...not a 1080p.

Another weird thing is, my monitor never flicker / flashes like mad if I were to set it at 60hz before. I don't know why is it happening now.
So I tried a few solutions, I've updated my GPU Driver ( 18.9.2 ) no go, still same issue. I've tried factory reset for my monitor same, I've tried all the solutions that I've Google regarding font issue with Windows 10, still no fix....

Worst of all, if I were to take Screenshot of both pictures, it will come out the same...there's no way to take a screenshot and post it here for comparisons.....
My phone camera doesn't pick up the differences well either....

Do you guys think my monitor is crapping out on me or something ???
Another thing I notice is, that it seems to be only affecting Black colored Texts / Fonts....least far I can tell....when reading Facebook, anything of the Texts / Fonts if are Blue / Grey they seem normal.

OP
Gh0sT-NoVa

Gh0sT-NoVa