• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Weird problem with XP only after a few days

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Mr.Rotory

Disabled
Joined
Nov 23, 2003
Location
St.Petersburg, Russia
The issue:
During gaming every 5-10 seconds the frame will sort of freeze or really slow down and then kind of go through with the rest of whats on the screen, lagging I guess, but sometimes it will not do this for a period of about 30 seconds or so. It does not matter what the graphic settings are at or how intesive the game is,

For example: I attempt to play Need for Speed 3 or 4, either way, an older game that my computer should pull with all the graphics up with no problem. However this "freezing" thing happens, same with games like URU or Warcraft 3
Things I've done:
Tab out and run task manager, I notice that my cpu usage is at 100 %, I check for error in event viewer and dont see any problems, I checked my 3.3 volt and it is where it should be during game play.

To solve the problem:
I ran system restore, and restored back to 2 weeks ago, and the problem goes away, however after 4 days this issue comes back and I restore again, now after another 4 days its back again.

Help me please:
This is frustrating and this system was just installed. The only diffrence now is that I have a new motherboard, but the old asus pos was a a7v333 that had a bad southbrige (i suspect) and improper power management (killed my 430 antec and attempted to do it again so I bought a new nf7-s, which runs flawlessly, perfect power, perfect install as in no errors, which I somehow always had during xp install with the asus)


HMM:... I wonder weather having lack of 3.3 v back in the day of me having the a7v333 board I could have damaged the video card, however I doubt thats causing this particular issue because restoring back my xp is telling me that this is a reacuring windows issue. But I cant figure out what it might be, has anyone else had this problem.

thanks

P.S. I wanna avoid reinstalling, just incase this issue happens again, I wanna know what it is.
 
OP
Mr.Rotory

Mr.Rotory

Disabled
Joined
Nov 23, 2003
Location
St.Petersburg, Russia
I just thought of this, could it maybe be a hack that activates after a certain amount of time.


BTW I'll be honest, so far everything on my computer, including windows xp is legal and has been bought legally all except my office which might be the issue, even though I've had it on my system for a while without any issues. And I currently do not have it installed after the restore.
 

germanjulian

Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2002
Location
Frankfurt/London
it wont be your office. I am using and ahh illigal version (i do have a legal version) but I needed access quickly so mhh hehehe
anyway. download startup control panel from www.download.com run the program and check all the stuff that starts with your computer. if you have never done this it will be a lot. trust me when I say you can disable 99% of all these entries. just makesure you dont need them.
also when playing make sure type32.exe and point32.exe arent running cause they cause my games to lag (these are used for extra keyboard/mouse stuff) you will see just close them its safe.
 

DaWiper

Image Compare Man
Joined
Nov 15, 2003
Location
Norway
If you have changed your mobo I recommend you do a reinstall as well. A lot of stuff related to your old mobo is still on your system... Bet your old mobo uses the via4in1? Your new mobo uses a totally diffrent chipset. Try a reinstall or you could try cleaning up your system manually, register,drivers,boot, etc.
 

Th0r

Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2002
Location
England. Liverpool, Aintree
It might be a Virus activating after a certain time... I would run Ad-Aware, SpyBot, Some anti-virus program.... And could you give us a screenshot of the process Window please... Lets see whats in there....
 
OP
Mr.Rotory

Mr.Rotory

Disabled
Joined
Nov 23, 2003
Location
St.Petersburg, Russia
Just ran Search and Destroy and I've found a gator and a alexa bar along with some others, this is very interesting, how could I have these? I am very careful at all the websites I go to, not to allow any type of installs on my computer, plus I have not been to any warez sites yet nor have I installed any gain related software, no DIVX no winamp nothing. Plus I run sygate firewall and control everything coming in or out. Hmm, well I used search and destroy and immunized so I'll see if my problem presistes. DaWiper I've already reintalled my system after getting the new mobo and I'll get the screen shot here in a bit also. Thanks.
 
OP
Mr.Rotory

Mr.Rotory

Disabled
Joined
Nov 23, 2003
Location
St.Petersburg, Russia
Also ran that Control Startup and everything seems fine except there is a registry key thats in the HKCU/Run tab that reads just *blank*. I removed that also.
 

SunRedRX7

Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2003
Location
Kenmore, NY
Mr Rotary, like the avatar ;)

The only way i've found to stop adware programs from getting installed was setting 3rd party cookies to having to ask me for permission to run, I rarely get any spyware now.
 

SunRedRX7

Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2003
Location
Kenmore, NY
Under tools, internet options, privacy, Custom, then it should bring up Advanced Privacy Settings where you can choose to be prompted on cookies. Its annoying at first, because every site will ask if you want to accept cookies, but as you start weeding through which ones to accept and reject you wont get asked as much.

My RX-7 is a 1985 1st gen, fun little car, love the way the rotary just keeps pulling as the revs climb. Won't be driving it though till winter ends around here so I'm in withdrawl now.
 
OP
Mr.Rotory

Mr.Rotory

Disabled
Joined
Nov 23, 2003
Location
St.Petersburg, Russia
got ya, i thought it might be a shareware 3rd party program or something, but no thats a good idea. I'll try it out. Thanks for the tip.

BTW I drive a '87 s4 TII and i'm loving it, got my turbo off right now, just finished porting the wastegate and now going to be putting on a new RB exhaust, so i'm excited. Your right about not driving your rx in the winter though, especially the 1st gens cuz they are so light, I remember my 1st gen in the winter, ha in the rain!!! 5 minutes into the rain, i'm unable to make left or right hand turns, just hydro. Anyways, nice to find a fellow rotorhead here.