• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Western Digital Special Edition, worth buying?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Sokkan

Registered
Joined
Dec 3, 2001
Location
Sweden
I mean, 120gb 7200rpm 8mb cache, about $160. Sound pretty good to me or did I miss anything? Almost sounds TOO good... Suspicious.
 

SlowBurn

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2001
Location
New York
I have the WD 120 GB and it's probably one of the best drives I have ever owned. Definitely recommend it!
 

Spec_Ops2087

Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2002
Location
NJ
ditto....it a very fast and quiet Hard Drive...so far my fastest one that I have ever owned...got them in RAID, they flyyyyyyyyy




Spec
 

pauldriver

Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2002
Location
The Land of SIN
The only buggaboo is that the WD drives do not like high PCI bus speeds.

My Maxtor allowed me to run a FSB of 166 with no problems (41.5 Mhz PCI) whereas my WD only allows me a FSB of 153Mhz (38.25)

Bummer.

Paul.
 

SlowBurn

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2001
Location
New York
pauldriver said:
The only buggaboo is that the WD drives do not like high PCI bus speeds.

My Maxtor allowed me to run a FSB of 166 with no problems (41.5 Mhz PCI) whereas my WD only allows me a FSB of 153Mhz (38.25)

Bummer.

Paul.

Just out of curiosity were you using the 1/5 divider? The reason I ask is because I'm running my Abit KD7 at 170 FSB and I'm using the 1/5 divider, and so far have had no problems. I even ran Prime95 for 10 hours with no errors whatsoever.
 

pauldriver

Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2002
Location
The Land of SIN
SlowBurn said:


Just out of curiosity were you using the 1/5 divider? The reason I ask is because I'm running my Abit KD7 at 170 FSB and I'm using the 1/5 divider, and so far have had no problems. I even ran Prime95 for 10 hours with no errors whatsoever.

My board does not support a 1/5 divider.
 

The Revelation

Registered
Joined
Oct 23, 2002
Location
Jersey
I'm running 4 WD1200JB's, and I love it. The 8MB cache is great. I'll never go back to a 2MB cache again.

Oh, and RAID 0+1 owns.
 
OP
Sokkan

Sokkan

Registered
Joined
Dec 3, 2001
Location
Sweden
Thanks a lot :)

I always get suspicious when something seems too good :p
 

WyrmMaster

I'm a little teapot Senior
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Montana, USA
pauldriver said:
The only buggaboo is that the WD drives do not like high PCI bus speeds.

My Maxtor allowed me to run a FSB of 166 with no problems (41.5 Mhz PCI) whereas my WD only allows me a FSB of 153Mhz (38.25)

Bummer.

Paul.

Hmm, my WD will let me go to 169, i havent pushed it any farther than that, but it may go even farther.
 

pauldriver

Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2002
Location
The Land of SIN
WyrmMaster said:


Hmm, my WD will let me go to 169, i havent pushed it any farther than that, but it may go even farther.


It’s a question of PCI speed, what's the divisor use to generate your PCI bus?

If you have a /5 divisor then that's the answer, if you have a /4 divisor, then you are lucky, or you are not using the chipset IDE controller.

My motherboard only does /3 and /4 divisors. At a /4 divisor I get FSB 133 MHz /4 = 33.25 MHz PCI bus, FSB 150 MHz /4 = 37.5 MHz PCI bus and FSB 166 MHz /4 = 41.5 MHz PCI bus.

If you have a /5 divisor, then you can get FSB 150 MHz /5 = 30 MHz PCI Bus, FSB 166 MHz /5= 33.2 MHz PCI bus, and FSB 170 MHz /5 = 34Mhz.

As you can see, with a /5 divisor the PCI bus will not exceed 36.66 MHz (10% over PCI Spec) until a FSB of 183.33 is achieved. And since almost every PCI device will tolerate a 10% over-clock, I would expect the WD drives to perform admirably up to 183Mhz FSB when a /5 PCI divisor is available.

Some boards/chipsets also support an asynchronous PCI bus. This means that the PCI clock is not derived from the FSB clock, therefore your FSB speed becomes irrelevant.

Paul
 
Last edited:

SlowBurn

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2001
Location
New York
I have an Abit KD7 and it has a 1/5 divisor, and as we speak I am running my computer at home (at work right now) at 175 FSB which would put my PCI at 35 MHz. I can't remember what is the highest you should run it. Anyone know?
 

oops

Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2002
I don't know why you still cannot make your mind while the price is only $160. I got one months ago when it was $210.
 

pauldriver

Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2002
Location
The Land of SIN
SlowBurn said:
I have an Abit KD7 and it has a 1/5 divisor, and as we speak I am running my computer at home (at work right now) at 175 FSB which would put my PCI at 35 MHz. I can't remember what is the highest you should run it. Anyone know?

Problems usually show up around 38Mhz
 

KerryrreK

Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2002
Location
Texas
I've got an Abit IT7 and I run 161 FSB on my WD 80 gig special edition, and its a great drive, VERY quiet, TOO quiet.....almost suspiciously quiet....but anyway, my question is, I think I have a PCI lock because I pick my PCI/AGP speed in the BIOS and I dont see a divisor, am I confused about what a PCI lock does?

Kerry
 

pauldriver

Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2002
Location
The Land of SIN
The point of my post was the the WD drives won't handle as high of a PCI bus as others, my Maxtor drives are fine at a 45Mhz PCI bus speed.

Those of you with a PCI speed higher then 38Mhz are either lucky, or not yet noticing your errors, the WD drives will sorta work for me at 40Mhz. Most of the time they are fine, but I would get the occasional disk lockup, most notably in disk benchmarks.

Paul.
 
Last edited:

64026402

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2002
Location
KC,MO USA
pauldriver said:
The point of my post was the the WD drives won't handle as high of a PCI bus as others, my Maxtor drives are fine at a 45Mhz PCI bus speed.

Those of you with a PCI speed higher then 38Mhz are either lucky, or not yet noticing your errors, the WD drives will sorta work for me at 40Mhz. Most of the time they are fine, but I would get the occasional disk lockup, most notably in disk benchmarks.

Paul.

It sounds like a problem with you controller. The HDs don't connect to the pci bus. Your controller may get a little twitchy when being overclocked. If your controller does't like the WDs at higher PCI speeds then it is a problem with the controller.
I have more problems with my Maxtors than my WDs but on some controllers the Maxtors are just fine.
The drives don't do anything different with increased PCI speed.