• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

What a pain these green ones are....

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

OnDborder

Senior Member
Joined
May 6, 2001
Location
HOT 'n Arizona
Persistance, being stubborn, or having no life...

I just spent a total of, at least, 12 hours,maybe more, over the last 3 days getting a successful "unlock" on a agoia 9 1600(greenie)..
This is the forth XP and definitely the hardest.. Why? I have no clue. It just wouldn't take..
133x6.5
133x8.5
1500 instead of 1600...
Man I almost gave up but I knew it could and would be done..

Finally, 1600--1400mhz---133x10.5
Ok, great.. Let's adjust the multiplier.. Reboot.. No change...
Clean, paint, boot up, adjust, etc...
Over and over again..

Finally ..success!


I found that using clear fingernail polish and the conductive pen the best and easiest to clean off....
 
OP
OnDborder

OnDborder

Senior Member
Joined
May 6, 2001
Location
HOT 'n Arizona
Update: don't waste time or money on these green "9"s. IMHO.

Won't boot into windows @ 185x9.5
170x10
It will run stable at 180x9.
So I got to around to 1600-1650 on this chip. This certainly isn't worth the anguish I put into unlocking it..
 

JDXNC

Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
I just got my AGOIA "9" from Kunak and it does 1575 locked at stock voltage perfectly stable and will post at 166 X 10.5 at stock voltage but gets a BSOD loading windows... if my K7S5A had voltage adjustments I'm sure it would do quite a bit more.

EDIT... accidentially wrote "unlocked" instead of locked.
 
Last edited:

JDXNC

Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
I think its my ram holding me back at 166 FSB... I dunno, either way I got a great deal on it and its way better than a 1Ghz Duron ;)
 

Kunaak

Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2002
Location
Juneau Alaska
JDXNC, you got it at 166 on that ECS with the OC bios?

thats impressive, with that OC bios I couldn't get anymore then 142.
 

David

Forums Super Moderator
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
I screwed up the unlocking of my pair of AGOIA green XPs. The L1 bridges are a mess.

David
 

TyRex

Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2002
Location
Indiana
did you guys take that stupid sticker off, or did you just leave it on? I just got my AGOIA 0224 greenie today.......now i'm starting to get worried
 
OP
OnDborder

OnDborder

Senior Member
Joined
May 6, 2001
Location
HOT 'n Arizona
My aroia y is brown and it is a good OC'r..


OCLuc, I have a ayhja 1 gig. It is the only t-bird I have left out of 4, 1 avia, 2 axias, and the ayhja..
Sold the rest with the systems.
It's a keeper.