• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

What Bridges have to be unlocked for a 1.2 TBird?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

RangerJoe

All that is Man!
Joined
Nov 24, 2001
Location
Stillwater, Oklahoma
i believe all tbirds come factory unlocked, but if now, then yea, the L1 bridges, the look like this ( :::: ) so make them look like this ( l l l l )
 
OP
Magnus

Magnus

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2002
Location
canada
ok mines unlocked then... but why can i not exceed 1.347
if i go to 1.4 i blue screen when windows is loading... wtf...
can anyone sugesst a voltage setting... or does my mobo just blow chunks?
 

David

Forums Super Moderator
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
Magnus said:
ok mines unlocked then... but why can i not exceed 1.347
if i go to 1.4 i blue screen when windows is loading... wtf...
can anyone sugesst a voltage setting... or does my mobo just blow chunks?

Are you trying FSB increases, or multipliers?

FSB will be a limit on your CPU whether the CPU is unlocked or not. The point of unlocking the CPU is to be able to increase the multiplier in your BIOS.

ie. 9x 133 = 1200
9x 150 = 1350
9.5x 133 = 1266
10x 133 = 1333
10.5x 133 = 1400

If the CPU cant much farther, try a voltage increase - either in the BIOS or by closing all L7 bridges to get 1.85Volts.

You can also try increasing RAM voltage if possible - bad/unbranded RAM will hold you back :eek:.
 

thefly

Member
Joined
May 16, 2001
Location
Montreal
Check the stepping of the core.

If your core is a good stepping you should be able to reach 1400 without any problems.

Heat can cause problems. What are you cpu temps??

voltage can help. But I've found that my cpu which is a 1 gig tbird, will do 1400 at pretty close to default voltage. The cpu will boot into windows at 1500 but it's not stable even at 1.85 volts.

Clearly, atleast for my cpu, most of the overclocking doesn't need a massive voltage boost. Once you hit the wall of your cpu, then you'll need more volts to push it futher. But it's a battle of diminishing returns. Volts=heat!

Hand picking your cpu is good! The store i went to allowed me to choose from a tray of cpus. So, i was happy when i found my axia Y chip. It's a great overclocker.
 
OP
Magnus

Magnus

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2002
Location
canada
the stepping is in the pic i included with the thread.... is it a good one?
 

jgaud

Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2001
Location
NEW HAMPSHIRE
try looking for stepping here,in the middle on the die stepping for your chip will probably be somethin like AXIA or AYHJA prolly the latter and then there are other factors such as production week and other arcane letters or numbers might be present, sacrificing a chicken might also be a good idea. J
 
Last edited: