• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

what chipset?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

seamadan000

hello all, i am what you call a newbie, and would value your opinions on what chipset is best for building a system (my first!!!)with a Athlon XP processor, via 266a, ali-majik, AMD 761, SiS, etc.

Also I have done some research on motherboards and i am leaning twards a Gigabyte 7DXR+, is this a good board, or should i consider one with a newer chipset (maybe the 7VTXH+). Or should i go with a different company like Abit? Like i said, im a newbie so the help of you computer gods would be much appriciated? Thanks
________
Ford Country Squire

Last edited:
the 266a is the chipset to beat nowdays, last time i heard sis and amd chipsets were kind of buggy.

weasel said:
the 266a is the chipset to beat nowdays, last time i heard sis and amd chipsets were kind of buggy.

Chipset to beat now is the KT333, and I got me one, it is the fastest till the KT333A chipset comes out that will support agp 8x and I am sure will have a few revisions.

Cisco Kid

by time amd makes a chip that will take advantage of the full potential of the kt 333 they will have changed thier die size so its no worth it to me. why buy a board if it wont work with the hammers?

weasel said:
by time amd makes a chip that will take advantage of the full potential of the kt 333 they will have changed thier die size so its no worth it to me. why buy a board if it wont work with the hammers?

I dunno I think you will see an AMD chip taking advantage of the KT333 chipset .

For me it was a worthwhile upgrade from the original 266 chipset.

Now I just have to wait for some REAL pc2700 cas 2 to appear, this is the closest I have found as it is just starting to become available. The ram thing is kinda misleading