• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

What gives with these super low sandra scores?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Malakai

New Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2001
Location
Fl
I borrowed a friends Kingston Hyper-X memory, 2x512mb sticks, for a few days to see how they would score on my comp at 200fsb sync @2-2-6

The scores I am pulling are so low, I just saw someone with a slightly higher FSB and worse timings hitting and passing the 3000mb/sec mark?

bakamemtest.gif


There has to be something wrong here, these scores should not be this low.

The rest of my specs are the same as before
 
Last edited:

q149

Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2002
Location
Japan
I was thinking the same thing when i tested mine earlier. I could not break 3k either... and it's at 438mhz 6-3-2-CL2.0 in dual channel mode.
 
OP
Malakai

Malakai

New Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2001
Location
Fl
I just ran again with the newest abit bios.

Scored 2848/2562

Same settings and timings all around.

Still low as hell, wtf? One stick is in slot 1, one is in slot 3. The bios verifies dual channel mode. Running the 6/6 bus setting.
 
OP
Malakai

Malakai

New Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2001
Location
Fl
pip said:
try disabling Dual Channel and see what it does

You can't just disable dual channel mode.

I don't feel like opening up my case and messing with my oragami IDE cables right now.
 

q149

Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2002
Location
Japan
I will try it in a a bit. My boot up screen also verifies that it's in dual channel mode.. it's known to lie to me though
 

q149

Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2002
Location
Japan
Ok. I got about 2800/2650 in 1&2 and 1&3. In 2&3 i got 2541/2313.
Can someone else with similar memory speeds check what they get?
 
OP
Malakai

Malakai

New Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2001
Location
Fl
Mark Larson said:
I've had up to 300MB/s difference between XP installs and EP-8RDA to EP-8RDA+. I wouldn't worry about it. They're just synthetic benchmarks anyway.

I know, but 2800/2600 is a huge drop from 3200/300 that someone in another thread got with another Nforce2 mobo at similar bus speeds.
 
OP
Malakai

Malakai

New Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2001
Location
Fl
gtsimmo said:
i scored about the same with my hyperX, my current corsairs only do about 100 points better.

How high did your hyperx go?

This stuff is doing 200 at max timings at 2.6 volts, without showing any signs of problems at all. And theres even a while gig of it :eek:
 

-=TriX-R4-KidS=

Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
Location
Indiana University, USA
ive got mine at DDR400 5-3-3-CL3 (crap timings but this is SPD 6-3-3-CL3 DDR266)

i dont have any trouble getting over 3000....just re=-ran the bench and get 3047/2831. im using the v14 BIOS.

and the RAM is 2x256 and in DC.

i guess you could try loosening the timings and seeing what that gets you.

-TriX
 
OP
Malakai

Malakai

New Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2001
Location
Fl
-=TriX-R4-KidS= said:
ive got mine at DDR400 5-3-3-CL3 (crap timings but this is SPD 6-3-3-CL3 DDR266)

i dont have any trouble getting over 3000....just re=-ran the bench and get 3047/2831. im using the v14 BIOS.

and the RAM is 2x256 and in DC.

i guess you could try loosening the timings and seeing what that gets you.

-TriX

Thats really wierd, what OS and version of Sandra are you running?
 

Woody29

Member
Joined
May 5, 2003
Location
UK
hi...
i maybe wrong on this but i think you have to be over 200+fsb to get around 3000mb/s bandwidth or over.

i'm able to get around 3300mb/s but thats at 220fsb
 

Woody29

Member
Joined
May 5, 2003
Location
UK
hi trix
ok, but the chances of getting 3000mb/s+ will be difficult to reach cos off the difficulty in achieving the timings you mentioned?
especially for it to be stable?
 

-=TriX-R4-KidS=

Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
Location
Indiana University, USA
Woody29 said:
hi trix
ok, but the chances of getting 3000mb/s+ will be difficult to reach cos off the difficulty in achieving the timings you mentioned?
especially for it to be stable?

do you want me to take photographical evidence? and it is stable. ~1hour of p95 is stable enough for me. i havent run p95 longer than that and i dont need to.

--------------------

"I have never even heard of anyone with CAS 1.0."

twas a typo. sorry.

-TriX
 

-=TriX-R4-KidS=

Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
Location
Indiana University, USA
alright just benched again and screencapped it:

benchmarks_3000mbs_DDR400.jpg


sorry about the large size. I am in a hurry.

and i thought everybody who was running DDR400 was getting 3000mb/sec bandwidth? i guess thats not the case. maybe i have magical RAM : /

-TriX