• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

What GPU will best fet my config. Upgrading from 8800 gts SLI

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Leachdude

New Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Looking to upgrade my 8800 gts 320mb SLI config. I am looking at ATI's 5850 or 5870. Just wondering if my computer is good enough to take full advatage of the speeds of these cards my set up is:

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield
EVGA 122-CK-NF68-A1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i
OCZ Platinum 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066
PC Power and Cooling S75QB 750W ATX12V

What are the thoughts? Do I need to upgrade further?

Thanks
 

MattNo5ss

5up3r m0d3r4t0r
Joined
Aug 11, 2008
Your setup will work fine with the HD5850/70, especially with the CPU OCed. PSU is plenty and a quality brand. With some games you may need/want more than 2GB RAM, but that's the only hiccup I see from what you listed.
 
OP
L

Leachdude

New Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Will 4gb do fine or should I bump it up to 8gb? Will be running windows 7 as well. I think I got some more memory, but its 800 would have to run 4gb at 800.
 

MattNo5ss

5up3r m0d3r4t0r
Joined
Aug 11, 2008
4GB will be enough. So, you'll be running 2x1 DDR2-1066 sticks and 2x1GB DDR2-800 sticks? What are the manufacturer specs on both sets of RAM?
 
OP
L

Leachdude

New Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Yea that will be the set up, 2x1gb 1066 and 2x1gb 800. Both are OCZ dont know the exact specs. Will look them up. I have them all in right no at 800 and it's running ok. I do have the proc o'cd to 2.9...
 

MattNo5ss

5up3r m0d3r4t0r
Joined
Aug 11, 2008
To make the the RAM will play nice with each other you need to make sure both sets can handle the timings and voltage you have set in the BIOS.
 
OP
L

Leachdude

New Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
So I have a budget on this upgrade... Should I go with a 5850 and get 2x2GB 1066 memory? Or just get the 5870 and run 4x1GB memory at 800?

Thanks for the help!
 

MattNo5ss

5up3r m0d3r4t0r
Joined
Aug 11, 2008
Since your using a Q6600, I would just stick with 4x1GB @ 800 (You'll need to increase NB voltage to handle 4 sticks if you start OCing much). Then you can either get 5850 or 5870 depending on how much $ you want to spend or save.
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
What resolution is your monitor? Unless its more than 1920x1080, I would go with 5850 and 4GB ram (2x2gb config). I would go 2x2gb b/c you have a outdated chipset and to get teh most out of the new card you should overclock that chip as much as you can. Using 2 sticks will put less stress on the NB.
 
OP
L

Leachdude

New Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
I am running 1680x1050. So the 5850 and 2x2gb seems the way to go???? Maybe when the 5850's drop a little I can get another..
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Heh, you absolutely wont need another one of those at that resolution. No way. And you will be bottlenecked by that medium res and old(er) CPU with that in Crossfire. Not to mention, you cant Crossfire on that board, only SLI.
 
OP
L

Leachdude

New Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Ok I guess I mean later down the road when I do the rest of the upgrade, MB/CPU/RAM I could then grab antoher 5850 and crossfire that. But I am expecting that wont be for another year. So it'll all change. I think I am going to get the 5850 and the 2 2gb 1066 ram. I think I will be good with that config.
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
You will be fine, yes. And in a year, there will be a single card that could likely beat out 5850's in crossfire anyway. I dont like SLI or crossfire when a single card can do the job just fine. And again at your res, you certainly will not need anything more than one of those cards. I would get a 24" monitor before I crossfire any 58x0 series.
 

GotNoRice

Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2002
Since you have an SLI board, I would try to find a deal on someone selling a pair of GTX280's or similar. If you are going to suffer through using a terrible chipset you might as well milk it for all it's worth.