• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

what is better.....higher FSB or mult.?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

scoobysnax83

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2003
Location
Arlington, VA
I have an unlocked Palomino 1900 and I am trying to overclock for a generally faster system. My original intentions were to o/c for FSB speed in order to utilize my PC3200 mem. But the 1900 palomino is crap for FSB speeds. Right now I have it set at 13.0x with 150MHz. What the best route to go for o/c this chip?

Thanks :)
 

Quattro

Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2003
I have a locked 2100+ Palamino I had it running at 2002Mhz for a few hours then it crashed on Internet Explorer.
I had it 154FSB and 13x multiplyer.
Now I have it on 150FSB, it has helped my 3dmark score a lot!
 

dalilman52

Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2003
Location
Houston
higher fsb = higher system bandwidth, the general rule of thumb is to lower the multi, then raise the fsb as stable as possible, then raise the multi as high as it will go stable, but if u want higher speeds, u could go for a combo of the two and have a mix of medium high fsb and multiplier
 

The Coolest

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
The best route is to get the highest FSB speeds at the highest CPU speed possible. the Palominos usually max out at anywhere between 1.8 and 2ghz, so dropping your multi to a low setting, like x6 and upping your FSB as high as you can stay stable, and then start pumping up the multi, to have highest FSB and highest CPU speed.
 
OP
S

scoobysnax83

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2003
Location
Arlington, VA
Well, right now I am at 155MHz and a 13.0x mult. with 1.82corev. It's stable and temps seem fine. My clock speeds are at 1.71GHz. Now what doesn't make sense to me is that I unlocked my Palmino and I am only allowed to go down to 11.0x and up to 13.0x. This is really ****ing me off. I used the defroster grid repair technique twice to make sure I didn't screw up and the wire trick once. All have the same result. Am I doing something wrong?

Edit: So... multiplier is CPU speed (capability) and FSB is bandwidth (how fast the data is pushed into the CPU)?
 

The Coolest

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
If you only have a couple of multipliers to select from that means that you only unlocked part of the L1 bridges and for full control will have to reunlock
 
OP
S

scoobysnax83

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2003
Location
Arlington, VA
so what are the chances of unlocking the same multipliers each time, using three different techniques. Could there be something funky going on with my chip?

On a side note, does anyone know which ones unlock which multipliers?