• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

What is the best way that will give me the best performance

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

eaglepi

Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2005
I currently have a LINKSYS WRT54GL v1.1 wireless-G Broadband router with 4 ports.

I want to add a switch to increase the number of ports, what would be the best quality that I would gain more than just picking any switch. I am looking to at least double or triple the ports.

Thanks in advance
 

Janus67

Benching Team Leader
Joined
May 29, 2005
That router is limited to 100mbit LAN connection (almost positive anyway that it isn't gigabit), so you won't get any additional speed above 100Mbit (or about 12.5MB/s) until you would upgrade your router to a gigabit router. That said, there's no real reason to not go buy an 8 or 16port gigabit switch to prepare for the day when you upgrade your router as well. I've had good experiences with netgear switches.
 
OP
E

eaglepi

Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2005
That router is limited to 100mbit LAN connection (almost positive anyway that it isn't gigabit), so you won't get any additional speed above 100Mbit (or about 12.5MB/s) until you would upgrade your router to a gigabit router. That said, there's no real reason to not go buy an 8 or 16port gigabit switch to prepare for the day when you upgrade your router as well. I've had good experiences with netgear switches.


would you also upgrade my router to a netgear one? id so can you recommend one ?

If anyone has a recognition please feel free to add your ideas.


Thanks for your input Janus67
 

Janus67

Benching Team Leader
Joined
May 29, 2005
I would upgrade your router, yes, to something more current (especially if you have wireless devices that will utilize Wireless N or AC, or are planning to have new ones). I really like my netgear nighthawk r7000. The Asus AC87 is very popular, as is the Archer c7 router. At least when it comes to AC routers. Wireless N has it's fair share of recommended brands/models as well (Netgear, Asus, Cisco, etc all make good routers), I'd recommend looking up reviews for the ones you are interested in and that fit your budget and needs
 
OP
E

eaglepi

Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2005
I would upgrade your router, yes, to something more current (especially if you have wireless devices that will utilize Wireless N or AC, or are planning to have new ones). I really like my netgear nighthawk r7000. The Asus AC87 is very popular, as is the Archer c7 router. At least when it comes to AC routers. Wireless N has it's fair share of recommended brands/models as well (Netgear, Asus, Cisco, etc all make good routers), I'd recommend looking up reviews for the ones you are interested in and that fit your budget and needs

I'm a bit confused, you gave me so much info. I know I should buy a new router and a switch to do what I want to do. Can you give me a few examples and if you can give me links so I can read about them it will help me a bunch Right now we only have 2 iphones and 2 iPads but who know what I might get in the future so I'd rather buy so I have plenty of room for future wireless item.

Thanks!!
 

JrClocker

AKA: JrMiyagi
Joined
Sep 25, 2015
This is what I use...

Router 1:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00K...=wrt1900ac&dpPl=1&dpID=41M3+O+PAOL&ref=plSrch

Router 2:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B008I...50+linksys&dpPl=1&dpID=413OWfhlzTL&ref=plSrch

Switch:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00K4...=TL-SG108E&dpPl=1&dpID=41EVDyb98EL&ref=plSrch

As you can see, I like Linksys - hehe. Always had firmware problems with Netgear...burned too many times.

The first router is probably overkill, but it has a lot of great features. The second one is probably a good one for you.

The switch is a good one...it's a smart switch...probably overkill...they have an unmanaged one that is a bit cheaper.

Here is a link that shows my current network to show you what I am doing with these:

http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php/768868-MoCA-2-0-Ethernet-over-Coax