• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

What is the difference between Redhat, Mandrake and SuSe?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Luie

Linux total newbie here...:eek:

What is the difference between Redhat, Mandrake and SuSe?
What are they better at? (eg I think Mandrake is good for hosting php websites, etc, stuff?)

Which is the best in your opinion? (any other linux distribution you think is better then the 3 I mentioned above?)

Titan386

IMO, those distros you've listed are quite similar. Red Hat, Mandrake, and Suse are all geared for someone relitively new to Linux, and they tend to hide the lower level stuff. In some more 'advanced' distros, like Slackware, Debian, or Gentoo, you'll often find yourself editing text files to change system settings, while you'll encounter the (arguably) easier GUIs in Red Hat, Mandrake, or Suse.

There really aren't many fundamental differences between them, and I don't think you can say that one is better than the others at a particular task. After all, the underlying software is mostly the same. You can't really claim that Mandrake is best at hosting websites, when Apache, PHP, and MySQL will run on any distro.

Finally, there is no best Linux distro. Some tend to appeal to different audiences, but from the ones you've listed, they all target the same user group: the newbs :)

I suggest you try them all and see which one you prefer. I can't tell you what the best distro is, simply because I have no idea what you'll like or dislike.

There is one notable difference: Red Hat and Mandrake both distribute ISOs for free download, while Suse does not. If you wish to use Suse, you can either download a floppy that does an FTP install, or buy the CDs.

Have fun learning Linux :)

OP
L

Luie

Thanks very much. I'll try them all. =)