• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

what is the Pentium 1 overclock record?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

miker00lz

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2009
yeah, they're really old but i was wondering. i was cleaning up the basement today, and came across an old forgotten computer of mine with a 233 MHz Pentium w/ MMX so for ****s i hooked it up. works fine, so i went to try an overclock just to see how far i could take this P.O.S.

it surprised the hell out of me, i've got it running at 500 MHz right now and it seems very stable. after this fresh copy of XP installs i was going to see if i can squeeze anything else out of it. i set the bus at 100 MHz, 5.0x multiplier, and i upped the vcore from 2.8 to 2.9 and the thing idles at only 43 deg. celcius according to the monitor in the BIOS.

but yeah this thing is currently running at about 2.2 times it's labeled speed rating. obviously it's a piece of ****, but i thought it was interesting that it can go this high (and maybe more). what is the fastest known Pentium 1 out there??
 

Niku-Sama

Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2005
just because its old doesent mean its a pile of ****.
one day they were the ****
 

ozzlo

Senior whose title will pier
Joined
Mar 17, 2002
haha I'd love to see a 1ghz P1

It dosn't sound like you have anything to loose... lets see how far it will go ;)
 

glussier

Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2002
How did you get a 5 multiplier on a pentium 1 mmx? I always thought that 3.5 was the highest multiplier you could get on those processors.

What motherboard are you using?

Sorry, but without proof, I don't believe that overclock.


Edited for this:

There was some P1 mmx with 4 multipliers but the 4 multiplier was remapped onto a lower multiplier and they were low power P1 used on laptops or imbedded devices. So, there were 266mhz P1 mmx cpus, but none too many were seen around.
 
Last edited:
OP
M

miker00lz

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2009
How did you get a 5 multiplier on a pentium 1 mmx? I always thought that 3.5 was the highest multiplier you could get on those processors.

What motherboard are you using?

Sorry, but without proof, I don't believe that overclock.


Edited for this:

There was some P1 mmx with 4 multipliers but the 4 multiplier was remapped onto a lower multiplier and they were low power P1 used on laptops or imbedded devices. So, there were 266mhz P1 mmx cpus, but none too many were seen around.

yep, you're right. i thought it was 5.0x but i found this out the next day after i made this thread. i was looking up pentium 1 multiplier info, and found the same thing out.

i thought it was overclocked to 500 MHz because the BIOS in that PC Chips board apparently derives the number from simply doing the math with your settings and displays it during the POST. i found out after windows installed that it was only running at 190 MHz. it said that in system properties, and CPU-Z.

now i just look stupid. :/

some pentium chips even have the 3.5x multiplier disabled via internal hardwiring. apparently the highest overclock you can get on a P1 with a 100 mhz bus board is 350 MHz. i do have a p200 overclocked to 266, but that's not very impressive heh.
 
OP
M

miker00lz

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2009
no. -_-

i was freaking out thinking that thing was running at 500 MHz. i thought it seemed a bit slow though. (not like 500 MHz would be fast or anything...)
 

gwar2288

Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
no. -_-

i was freaking out thinking that thing was running at 500 MHz. i thought it seemed a bit slow though. (not like 500 MHz would be fast or anything...)

Do eeeeeeeeeeeet!

Gah, you've made me want to go find some old equipment and try it now :(
 

glussier

Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2002
yep, you're right. i thought it was 5.0x but i found this out the next day after i made this thread. i was looking up pentium 1 multiplier info, and found the same thing out.

i thought it was overclocked to 500 MHz because the BIOS in that PC Chips board apparently derives the number from simply doing the math with your settings and displays it during the POST. i found out after windows installed that it was only running at 190 MHz. it said that in system properties, and CPU-Z.

now i just look stupid. :/

some pentium chips even have the 3.5x multiplier disabled via internal hardwiring. apparently the highest overclock you can get on a P1 with a 100 mhz bus board is 350 MHz. i do have a p200 overclocked to 266, but that's not very impressive heh.

Forget about the stupid part, everybody makes mistakes. Since it was your first post, I thought you were just trolling. :D

An excellent overclock, 24/7 running, for this cpu was 3.5 * 83 or if you were lucky enough not to have a locked multiplier was 3*100. Anything above 300mhz was mostly for benching.
 

tom_ozahoski

Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2001
I used to run mine at 300mhz 100x3 daily. 3.5x95 wasn't very stable. Super Socket 7 motherboards were cool back in the day! lol