• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

What is this value about in HWMonitor?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Does anyone know what "IA" represents in bios? It goes up and down in lockstep with the vcore as I raise or lower the vcore but I can't seem to find a line item in bios that allows me to adjust it independently on my ASRock Z97 Killer.

Some have said it is the analog input but it isn't. I've tried changing the value in bios for that parameter and it has no effect on the line item in HWMonitor.
 

Attachments

  • IA.PNG
    IA.PNG
    27.6 KB · Views: 731

Mr.Scott

Beamed Me Up!
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
IA is the actual CPU core voltage.
Adaptive is what you adjust to change the rate.
 
OP
trents

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
But in bios it's set to 1.285 vcore, as per the VID line in HWMonitor. Is there a supplementation going on? I wouldn't think so as my vcore in bios is set to a manual "fixed" level. CPU LLC is disabled.
 
OP
trents

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
But it is not in Adaptive Mode. It is in Override Mode. I just checked the bios.
 

Mr.Scott

Beamed Me Up!
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Interesting. I do not have that particular board, so I can't get more specific, but it shouldn't be doing that then.
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
LOL, I googled and came up with this :rofl: : http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php/762173-What-is-IA-in-HWMonitor

That aside here is something: http://www.overclock.net/t/1564929/what-are-ia-and-llc-ring-voltages-in-hwmonitor-pro
http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/what-is-ia-gt-vtt.157737/

EDIT: My IA is reading 1.218V. Here is my thinking that it is the cores or total voltage to the cores... your CPU has a FIVR on it. Where it is getting a large voltage and stepping it down internally to all the parts... SA/IO/Vcore/iGPU etc... I could be way off on that, but bet I could sell it. :p
 
OP
trents

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Yeah, I turned up all that same stuff in my googling. There doesn't seem to be agreement on this parameter and who knows if it is even being reported correctly. After all, if it is the sum ("total") of the core voltages it would be a lot bigger than the number it shows.

It is also possible that my manual override of the CPU voltage in bios is not working properly.

Based on the temps I'm getting in stress testing I would guess the vcore is greater than what the VID value is so maybe Mr. Scott is correct and my manual over ride controls are not entirely working.

Is RGone participating in the forum any longer? Haven't seen a post from him in a coon's age.
 
Last edited:
OP
trents

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Emailed this question to the CPUID folks but haven't heard back from them. I think I did this the other time I asked this same question but never got a reply. Maybe if I purchased the pro version they would answer.