• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

what makes a waterblock good?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

HoratioJackson

Registered
what are the seperate components to a water block? thickness? in and out holes? material? i am very new to water cooling.

also, what is the best block to get and y?

thanks
hj

Cathar

Mark Larson said:
Lots of surface area, low flow restriction and a good clamping pressure.

Agreed on good clamping pressure.

Lots of surface area is a false idol, as is low flow restriction.

In fact, I would have to say that the low flow restriction approach is the one that is most directly holding back water-block advances.

Blocks that effectively make use of mini-channels and/or jet impingement, coupled with very thin base-plates have the best hope of offering any real advances over the standard maze designs.

Since87

Mark Larson said:

Interesting... how come?

Because in White Water, the majority of the heat is convected (is that a word?) from a 'small' amount of surface area just above the die. On the other hand, I'd say that White Water's surface area to volume ratio in that region is very high.

Perhaps if you had said, "lots of EFFECTIVE surface area"...

Cathar

Mark Larson said:

Interesting... how come?

Only so much surface area can ever really be used effectively.

Beyond a certain point, the extra surface area is coming at a distance from the heat where it's well beyond doing anything useful. A waterblock can have heaps of surface area, but very little where you want it, while another can have 1/10th the surface area, but because it's placed correctly, will offer better cooling performance.