• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

What next?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

MsNath

Alas the weather is warming up and I will no longer be able to benefit from mother natures cold touch. So I need alternative cooling measures.

I purchased a PAL 6030. It works nicely and has dropped my CPU <under load > from 42c to 30c a good 12 degrees which is much more than I was expecting. However, this just isn’t cold enough. I’m not ready to go with water cooling yet but I am interested in trying out a peltier with this heat sink/fan combo.

What are your recommendations for building this set up? I have never worked with peltiers before so newbie instructions would be appreciated.

Should I use zero, one or two cold plates?

How do you wire up the peltiers? Can I wire them to an extra female plug and plug them into one of my male leads from the power supply?

I do have a little exp with peltiers on hsf combos.
They work ok as long as the hsf can keep up.
question is is your power supply enough to power everything and the peltier.....
and making sure you have a peltier rated high enough to achieve the temps you want.
ive just recently started playing with watercooling and peltiers
i also recently got a few 50 watt peltiers which im tryin to find a use for....lol
these puppies use a tremendous amount of power
just keep that in mind

"I’m not ready to go with water cooling yet but I am interested in trying out a peltier with this heat sink/fan combo."