• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

What to buy for Overclocking Mobile Barton

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Squishy

Registered
BEGINNERS: What Hardware to Buy for Overclocking Mobile Barton

Ok I'm new to all this, so I've been doing some research and wanted to share my findings. Please feel free to comment on my selections.

If you want to upgrade your PC, and you've read that the Mobile Barton's are great for overclocking, like here: http://www.techtastic.ca/reviews3/mobile-barton-2500.html or here: http://www.fastlanehw.com/reviews.php?i=102&page=1 , then you know how tempting this can be.

Your system is probably like mine- a not too shabby AMD 1400+ or something similar, and you’re about ready for an upgrade. You think, hey, if I can pick up a CPU chip for $78 and get 2.6GHz out of it, WHY NOT?!?

Well, there’s more to buy than just that. Here's what you'll need to get started.

1. The Mobile Barton CPU chip.

This comes in a few flavors, the ones I've found are:

Model: 2400+
Stock: 1.8GHz (133FSBx13.5), ~$78 as of 4/9/04

Model: 2500+
Stock: 1.86GHz (133FSBx14), ~$92 as of 4/9/04

Model: 2600+
Stock: 2.13GHz , (133FSBx16) ~$110 as of 4/9/04

Note on cache:
You don't want to start below these (like 2000+ etc) because they only have 256k of L2 cache. Do it right and start with the 2400+ and up.

Note on FSB:
You will be overclocking your bus speed from 133MHz to as much as 225, depending on your cooling. NOTE: On some websites, the FSB is listed as 266MHz. That's because the CPU can use data on the rise and fall of the signals, in effect doubling the frequency of the motherboard bus (133*2=266). But when overclocking, you'll be changing the motherboard's bus speed, which will start at 133MHz for these chips.

So which do I get? The 2400+? 2500+? or the 2600+?