• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Whats the Best RAM for My config for 4GB

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

rognorak

New Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2008
Hi - Im building my first system for overclocking -

CPU - Q9450
MoBo - Lanparty DK X48 T2RS

I plan to run the FSB at 1600, I want 4 GB of ram, preferably 2x2 GB, unless its better to do 4x1 GB for OC?

Any suggestions on a good product for my config -

Thanks
 

JamesXP

Epic Fail Guy
Joined
Apr 18, 2007
Location
England
You won't be overclocking with DDR800 at 1600FSB anyway ;)

But I do like the PC8000 from GSKill 2x2GB i think they are on sale at newegg.
 
OP
R

rognorak

New Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2008
You won't be overclocking with DDR800 at 1600FSB anyway ;)

But I do like the PC8000 from GSKill 2x2GB i think they are on sale at newegg.

Ok Im getting cofused now... Bare with me I am new to this:

DFI website says this:

---------------------------------
Four 240-pin DDR2 DIMM sockets
Supports DDR2 667/800 MHz
Delivers up to 12.8Gb/s bandwidth
Supports dual channel (128-bit wide) memory interface
Supports up to 8GB system memory
Supports unbuffered x8 and x16 DIMMs
----------------------------------------

If I get DDR2800, then if it transfers twice per clock cycle, it will match 1600 Mhz FSB, correct?

If so why does the DFI site say 800Mhz?

Thanks - sorry if its a dumb question
Mike
 

maxfly

Member
Joined
May 7, 2005
using 400 actual fsb 1:1 as the example.
fsb(400)x4=1600
mem speed(400)x2=800
use cpuz to see the bus speed(actual fsb)vs the rated fsb.its alot less confusing.
 
OP
R

rognorak

New Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2008
using 400 actual fsb 1:1 as the example.
fsb(400)x4=1600
mem speed(400)x2=800
use cpuz to see the bus speed(actual fsb)vs the rated fsb.its alot less confusing.

I went off to read the sticky again, and im still confused - Sorry, I apparently know even less than i thought I did.

looking at the above - if effective FSB is 1600, but effective mem is 800, that would make the RAM the bottleneck ?

What is the right way to set up a system for sychronous operation (no bottleneck)?

Thanks for your patience
 

maxfly

Member
Joined
May 7, 2005
going with the example i gave.running the fsb/mem ratio 1:1(400fsb/400memory).you will end up with the memory at 800(400x2)and the rated fsb at 1600(400x4).so going with ddr2 800 will work fine.
 
OP
R

rognorak

New Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2008
going with the example i gave.running the fsb/mem ratio 1:1(400fsb/400memory).you will end up with the memory at 800(400x2)and the rated fsb at 1600(400x4).so going with ddr2 800 will work fine.

Looking at newegg, they have RAM up to DDR2 1300 (PC2 10400). What would be the point of putting that in a system? Can people really overclock their CPUs that much?
 

adelphia83

Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2003
Location
St. Charles, Missouri
Looking at newegg, they have RAM up to DDR2 1300 (PC2 10400). What would be the point of putting that in a system? Can people really overclock their CPUs that much?

It's not necessarily to overclock the CPU-- Faster RAM is always a good thing, even if run asynchronously.

Some with lower multiplier CPU's (example 7x on the E6320), need all the RAM frequency they can get- Those shooting for seriously high overclocks with these types of CPU's will find themselves over 500fsb, something your normal DDR2-800 can't achieve.

Also it's possible to get more out of these faster RAM modules at 1:1 by lowering the multiplier on the CPU.