• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

What's the best TV to use for TV out?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Tipycol

Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2002
Anyone have any recommendations? I would like it to be something I could clearly read text on, but that isn't as important as a good picture through S-video. So basically what's the best if price was no issue? Or what would you recommend if it had to be less than say, $750?


Thanks

Tipycol
 

pauldriver

Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2002
Location
The Land of SIN
Any old component video TV with a VGA to component adapter will work once windows starts, or this

dm6552sw_hd.jpg

dm6552sw_rear.jpg

http://www.digitalconnection.com/Products/DirectView/DM6552SW.asp

pretty cheap too $1499.00

Paul.
 
OP
T

Tipycol

Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2002
Anyone else with a suggestion for a large tv to be used as a monitor? The biggest so far was only 32", and that's with the 16:9 aspec ratio. I figured the sizes would be getting into the 40's?
 

Captain Slug

Helpful Senior Member
Joined
May 23, 2001
Location
Asteroid B-612
I got a display model 52" rear-projection Zenith TV for $800 at Circuit City. It needs to be repaired at the moment but connect a computer to it with S-Video and the image is REALLY crisp. Small text is impossible to read though.

Any NON-HDTV is essentially receiving an image that's been resampled to 352 x 240 the sharpened with hardware filtering.
 
OP
T

Tipycol

Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2002
Captain Slug said:
I got a display model 52" rear-projection Zenith TV for $800 at Circuit City. It needs to be repaired at the moment but connect a computer to it with S-Video and the image is REALLY crisp. Small text is impossible to read though.

Any NON-HDTV is essentially receiving an image that's been resampled to 352 x 240 the sharpened with hardware filtering.

How do you resample the image?
 

Captain Slug

Helpful Senior Member
Joined
May 23, 2001
Location
Asteroid B-612
Tipycol said:
How do you resample the image?
Scan convertors and TV-out chips resize the image from any given resolution and convert it to NTSC analog. Scan convertors provide for better image quality and don't require software interaction. They do cost more, but are far more flexible.

TV-out chips rely of software interaction to work properly and the image resampling is done by cheaper hardware. It produces dirtier images than a scan convertor.
 
OP
T

Tipycol

Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2002
Captain Slug said:

Scan convertors and TV-out chips resize the image from any given resolution and convert it to NTSC analog. Scan convertors provide for better image quality and don't require software interaction. They do cost more, but are far more flexible.

TV-out chips rely of software interaction to work properly and the image resampling is done by cheaper hardware. It produces dirtier images than a scan convertor.

Really? Hmm...maybe I'll look into getting one then.