• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

what's the highest you've got your pc133 ram?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Cisco Kid

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2001
LittlePiggie said:
I am wondering what I might be able to expect from mine, so some stats would help...please?

if it is good you will be hard pressed to get 150 tops, if generic you will just have to test it out. There is pc150 ram available if ya need it but see what yours will do first.

cisco kid

Thanks. :p
 

6502kid

Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
Location
Peoria Ill
I got 2 sticks of the Crucial Cas2 PC133 in rig 1 running
at 155 2-2-2 5/7 for 2 months now.

This is as good as either my KingMax TinyBGA PC150, or
my OCZ PC150 with the coolers on them.

The crucial benches a hair faster at this speed, so I am using
it in my main rig.

Your generic stuff will probably top out between 143-150 or so.
Maybe higher if your lucky, or run it at cas3.
 

Lancelot

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2001
Location
the Netherlands
I have two 256MB Spectek (Micron) PC133-333 sticks that I tested upto 160Mhz on a Via KT133A mobo with a cDO P3-1000EB, it needed a little Vio bump but all seemed fine...
 

o770

Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2001
got one stick of samsung CL3 rated 256MB that i got up to 140MHz 2-2-2, never tried to go any higher though.
 

larva

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Jul 12, 2002
My last P3 rig was built around Infineon PC133 ram that allowed 150 fsb at 2-2-2-5 timing on my P3B-F. It would only run one stick at this speed though, I used a 256MB stick. This was the highest FSB for this m/b, although the ram would certainly have run faster at looser timings (I had success at 160fsb cas 3 on BF6 abits). Since my c step P3-700 only had 1050MHz in it 150 cas2 was a better compromise.
 

Lithan

Disabled
Joined
Oct 24, 2002
Location
PA
larva said:
My last P3 rig was built around Infineon PC133 ram that allowed 150 fsb at 2-2-2-5 timing on my P3B-F. It would only run one stick at this speed though, I used a 256MB stick. This was the highest FSB for this m/b, although the ram would certainly have run faster at looser timings (I had success at 160fsb cas 3 on BF6 abits). Since my c step P3-700 only had 1050MHz in it 150 cas2 was a better compromise.


I had a stick of 133 128megs with infineon chips I took to 150 at the lowest timings (Was on a asus k7v... no friggin clue what timings it let me set, I cant remember two years ago. Hell I can't remember two days ago.)... Just for fun, Burnt it in for a few hours with no errors, then went back to 133. SPeaking of which... what the hell do the timings signify. I read it ages ago... but If I recall they only mentioned the first 3, and I've forgotten.
 
OP
LittlePiggie

LittlePiggie

Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2002
Location
Oregon
sweet, thanks all...i have mine up to 140 cas2
i gonna push it more when i get a better hs.
 

jmsandrsn

Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2000
Location
Xenia OH
165 FSB at 2-2-2-7/9 using a single 512 stick of Infineon SDRAM. This is with my Abit ST6 and Celeron 1.0A. I normally just run this system at 160 FSB but I was able to run at 165 FSB and ran Memtest all day without any errors at 165 FSB.

This stuff will not work on a BX board. I believe a double-sided 256mb stick is the most the bX chipset will take.
 
Last edited: