• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Whats the Point of the Opteron 1XX

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

stamasd

Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2002
Location
NYC
So again then, if Opterons are certified for SMP, but the 1xx can only be used in uniproc, what's the point? (apart from cash cow, of course :p)
 

Shade00

Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2002
Location
Louisiana Tech University
They're still meant for server and workstation use. They were released for that purpose before the FX was even introduced, and in any case, the Opterons are cheaper than the FX.
 
OP
D

dguy6789

Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2003
Location
Texas, USA
Yes i know, Im talking about the 1XX versions.

They cannot be used in multi cpu configurations. They are exactly the same as the athlon 64fx. So what is the point of selling them? If an opteron 148 was cheaper then an athlon 64FX 51, what fool would by the athlon 64FX 51? And vice versa. Why?
 

Gnufsh

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2001
Location
Shasta Lake, California
Opteron 1xx is targeted at the uniprocessor workstation market, a far cry away from the high-end consumer product that the FX is. The FX is moving to socket 939 and regular ram. The Opteron 1xx will continue to require registered RAM and support ECC, a must for workstation use. Business customers buying workstations expect a more stable, mature product than the average desktop user does, so Opteron 1xxs will probably take longer to catch on than FXs will too.
 

c627627

c(n*199780) Senior Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2002
Aha, but he asked what fule would buy 2.2 GHz FX 51 instead of Opteron 148, also at 2.2 GHz (if Opteron was cheaper)?

Opteron is locked, FX is not, what else?
 
OP
D

dguy6789

Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2003
Location
Texas, USA
Ok thanks, now it makes sense. The FX will be cheaper later because it wont use ECC registered memory. Ok thanks you guys.
 

Tawcan

Registered
Joined
Dec 17, 2002
Location
Vancouver, BC
dguy6789 said:
Ok thanks, now it makes sense. The FX will be cheaper later because it wont use ECC registered memory. Ok thanks you guys.

And the motherboard won't need to be 6 layers, hence cheaper as well.
 

c627627

c(n*199780) Senior Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2002
Remember we're talking 1xx Opterons, not 2xx or 8xx. Question: Are you saying Opterons 1xx and 64 FX-51 can't all go in the same mobos?
 

Krowa 02

Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2002
Location
Long Island New York
I would go with a cheaper Opteron 1xx over an FX-51 right now, they fit in the same boards, (they are the same CPU!) and its just a cheaper much better deal.