• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

when changing mobo's do i need to format my hardrive?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Emericana

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2002
Location
Boulder CO
my epox 8kha+ destroyed itself and now i have in the mail a msi pro2 ru. Do i need to format my hdd when i install this mobo? I have the latest 4 in 1's and windows 2000 sp2.
 

XprincoX

bargain hunter
Joined
Aug 30, 2001
Location
Irvine, CA
no u dont need to format your hd when moving it to a new mobo... windows will undate its drivers and what not on the first startup.

But if you want everything brand spankin new you can do a format and reinstall everything :D
 

cw823

Honeybadger Moderator
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
Location
Earth
It is always a good idea to. you WILL eventually run in to problems......whether or not it's a month down the road, or 2 years. It's always a better idea to format and start fresh.
 

repo man11

Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2001
As they said, it's best to start fresh. And this would be a good time to partition your drive , if you haven't allready. Having a small partition for your OS is great. It takes so long to reformat the whole drive! 2 gigs takes no time. Just thought I'd throw that in.
 
OP
Emericana

Emericana

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2002
Location
Boulder CO
well currently, i have a 100giger partitioned into one 45gig space for games and apps, one 50gig for movies/mp3s/downloads/etc, and one 3 gig for os.
It is not that it takes long to format but rather that i hate redownloading the service packs/updates/drivers/etc.
 

NASsoccer

On a string I was held Senior
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Location
i live
i agree with all the above, i always like the fresh install.. especially on such a small partition. And like repo said just make a folder on one of your other two drives and put all the updates and such in their( i also pu my drivers in this folder). To me it makes for a quick install.