• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SOLVED When do you put the hoses on?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
K

Kryten

Guest
I was just checking out the article on the Danger Den site about mounting the Maze 2, from the instructions it would appear that you connect the hoses after the water block is mounted, this leaves me scratching my head, wouldn't there be a greater chance of crushing the core if you try push hoses onto the water block if it is already mounted? or is this only shown this way for ease of illustration?
which way do you do it?
 

mikejae

Registered
Joined
Mar 12, 2001
I reconnected the hoses multiple times w/o the core cracking while the block was installed. Can you post your temps, I'm getting terrible temps with my maze 2. Gonna spring for some artic silver soon and maybe a compunurse. Anyone know if they fit on the 3" drive plates? I got all my 5.11's used up.
 
OP
K

Kryten

Guest
haven't actually got the maze 2 yet I am just trying to prevent joining the epidemic of AMD core brakages thats seems to be gripping this place at the moment.
You will probably find AS2 will make a substansial difference.
 

inertia

Registered
Joined
May 24, 2001
Not me man, no way!

There's no way I would even consider using any kind of brute force on anything anywhere near my <edit> core </edit> and connecting watertight hoses constitutes the use of brute force. That's all I have to say about that.
 

peewee

Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2001
Kryten (Jun 14, 2001 11:01 p.m.):
I was just checking out the article on the Danger Den site about mounting the Maze 2, from the instructions it would appear that you connect the hoses after the water block is mounted, this leaves me scratching my head, wouldn't there be a greater chance of crushing the core if you try push hoses onto the water block if it is already mounted? or is this only shown this way for ease of illustration?
which way do you do it?

when i did mine i connected the block, the gripped the hose barb with my finger and pulled up and i pushed down on the hose (SLOWLY)
 
OP
K

Kryten

Guest
Not me man, no way!

inertia (Jun 15, 2001 02:57 p.m.):
There's no way I would even consider using any kind of brute force on anything anywhere near my <edit> core </edit> and connecting watertight hoses constitutes the use of brute force. That's all I have to say about that.

this was my feelings and I have no intentions of joining the dead AMD chip group, thanks for the input guys.
 

Colin

Arctic Silver Senior
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
I have lost count of the number of time I have removed and installed hoses on Maze 2 or 2.2 while mounted. I have yet to damage a CPU.
 

TT120

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2001
Location
Sacramento, CA.
I cut the hoses for length with the block on there but I removed it when I went to install the hoses. That way there was no way I was gonna crush another chip. Plus it's easier to tighten the hose clamps when the whole system is out of the case.
 
OP
K

Kryten

Guest
Seems both trains of thought are acceptable, I still think I will go with caution and fit the hoses while it is unmounted. never owned an AMD before and I dont want to kill it before I fire it up for the first time, thanks again guys.
 
D

Darkraist

Guest
I have a maze2 waterblock and i made the whole system out of my case, then stuck it in after a day or 2 of running water through it to check for leaks.