• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

where to get a high wattage peltier?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
M

mark

Guest
Hello all, I have a slot 1 p3 700e (retail/cbo) OCed to 1085mhz at 1.75v with an 86w peliter and alpha p3125s running at -9°c idle and less than 10°c under EXTREME* full load for 48 hours. I have potted the peltier and siliconed perfectly, but I am wondering if I can put a higher wattage peltier on. Maybe a 117w baby or something. My questions are; Will that alpha be able to remove all that heat? I have a 2nd 300w power supply didicated only to the peltier, will it run a 117w peltier? Also where can I pick up a higher wattage peltier?
(*[email protected], Prime 95, Sandra, 3d Mark 2000, and playing mp3's at same time)
Well thanks for any info.
check my baby out; http://www.mjstebbins.com/case.htm
 

bdf24

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2001
Location
Harford, WI.
I doubt the Alpha will be able to remove that sort of heat. I know a few people around here told me that the highest you can go is around 85w's with air cooling. So you are at your max I believe.

Maybe now its time to start experimenting with water cooling. Then you can throw as big a tec as you want on that baby!

One other thing, Are you sure those temps are right? They seem a little extreme for having aircooling, Even with a 86w tec! And if they are correct that is awesome! Also what are your system temps with that much heat being pumped into the case?
 
W

William

Guest
if you go to water cooling and want a serious peltier, goto www.3dcool.com, they have something like a 150W peltier. Why you would need it is beyond me, but it is by far the biggest I have seen.
 

dimmreaper

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2000
Location
home
dunno260 (Mar 04, 2001 08:30 p.m.):
if you go to water cooling and want a serious peltier, goto www.3dcool.com, they have something like a 150W peltier. Why you would need it is beyond me, but it is by far the biggest I have seen.
I know were to get 180W peltiers, but they are 24V so they arn't to usefull for most people, as you have to do some pretty special things with PSUs ect. to use them.
 

Metaxas

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2000
Or just obtain a 24Volt P/S, and run it off that. I wonder if someone is going to try to make a better performing peltier, you know, more efficent, moves more heat with a little less power, that kinda crap...
 

bdf24

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2001
Location
Harford, WI.
Thats pretty sweet man. I wish I had room for a full tower case. I have a 50w peltier on my 800E and my system temp is at 29c and my cpu temp is at 23c at an idle. I am thinking of getting a 72w or 85w peltier. We have the same HSF combo.

I noticed you still have the backplate on your cpu. How did you seal off the back side of the chip from condensation with the back plate on. Or is it off now?
 

Hoot

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2001
Location
Twin Cities
Millisec.com has the 156W 50mm ones for $32.00 and very reasonable shipping.

If you don't need that much wattage, you can dial down the voltage. If you get a smaller one and need more wattage, then you're S.O.L.

Hoot
 

Ammethyl

Registered
Joined
Feb 27, 2001
High wattage peltier vs freon...

Here's my reasonning:

since, when using a peltier over +-85 watts, you need more than air cooling (water cooling), it might be more efficient to circulate, in the water cooling system, some anti-freeze/water mix (which I think has a higher specific heat [1] (moves heat better)[/1] ) cooled below zero by a normal freon-compressor-expander-radiator), this way you:

-are sure to get the heat out of the case
- get way below 0c

-don't need additionnal power supply (its working with 120v)

-It is more energy-efficient (I'm almost sure that a refrigerator uses much less power to move the same amount of heat).

-You reduce the nomber of interfaces (water-block/CPU instead of Heatsink/peltier/coldplate/CPU
 

wild_andy_c

NAKED Overclockers Unite! Senior
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Milton Keynes UK
It is such a good thing to use a freonate state cooler - but it wrieks havoc on condensation, ice and so on.

Aspen Temper 40 is a good regulation phase change coolant that guarantees performance between -30°C and -50°C. You go that cold - prepare for electric shocks and cutting off the whole blocks power supply.
 

dimmreaper

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2000
Location
home
Metaxas (Mar 05, 2001 01:06 a.m.):
Or just obtain a 24Volt P/S, and run it off that. I wonder if someone is going to try to make a better performing peltier, you know, more efficent, moves more heat with a little less power, that kinda crap...
Metaxas- If you run in to any 24V 12A PSUs let me know. But seeing as how thats a 288W bench top PSU I doubt you will find one. But let me know.
 

Hoot

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2001
Location
Twin Cities
Astron makes 22-32V Adjustable power supplies. Models range up as high as 20A continuous.

Hoot
 

dimmreaper

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2000
Location
home
Hoot (Mar 05, 2001 02:05 p.m.):
Astron makes 22-32V Adjustable power supplies. Models range up as high as 20A continuous.

Hoot
Got a URL were I can get more info?
 
OP
M

mark

Guest
OH MY!!!!
I need a shoulder to cry on.
my 300w power supply that I had the peltier and a case fan (to tell if it was on) blew up on me. Damn thing blew it's fuze. My slot 1 700e that did 1085mhz is TOAST!! I am so mad, it has been running fine for probably 2 weeks now. I went to turn the computer on earlier and i saw in the back a nice blue spark. I quickly pulled all plugs. right now I am back to my 667. Luckily nothing else was toasted. I had the 2nd power supply connected to turn on when i hit the power button. I need to ask you guys a few questions..
the way that I connected the 2nd power supply was to connect green to green and black to black (yes only 1 line). Is that correct? The psu (an L&C brand) was rated at 10A on the +12v line, that should have been ok right? Also where is a good place to get a HIGH QUALITY 300+ power supply?
Now let us all have a moment of silence for another great chip.
May it rest in the big ol computer in the sky.
*sob*
thanks,
Mark S.
 

dimmreaper

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2000
Location
home
proze (Mar 05, 2001 03:37 p.m.):
and for what price??! you're gonna PAY for a psu with those specs!
It depends on how much it will cost. If It cost much more than a dual-bobbin centertap transformer, then I'll just build a PSU.

Anyway, I'm not going to be doing this until I build a new machine (probably this summer [your winter paul]).
 

Hoot

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2001
Location
Twin Cities
After chasing through 20 pages at Google, i still could not find a distributor listing a price for them. Here's the Astron site link:

It would probably be cheaper to go to the local surplus warehouse and "roll your own".

Hoot