• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Which? 2 Systems Or Dual Mobo

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

paupton

Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2002
Location
southwest louisiana
OK now. Some of you experienced guys respond to this.
I am wondering which way to go. I have all the supplies to build two systems, or go with dual cpu and two monitors. I even bought a gforce3 on ebay so I am set for either way.
I know it would be crowded on my desk but I was going with a dual monitor system anyway. I wonder how many of you have tried both ways. What would you recommend.
I have XP1700 and XP2000. I have two 512 pc2100 sticks. I have two 19" new monitors. 3 Hdd's, and two of everything else, cases, mobo MSI k7tpro266 ru. 4PSU's. I even have two broadbands at my desk. One is dsl other is cable.
Will I get tired of two systems and will I even use them.
Or ..... is it better to put all this in one case?
Any replys would be appreciated.
paupton
 

nuclearmonkey

Registered
Joined
Feb 2, 2002
intersting question...

I would say, build one dream machine (although, by the looks of the hardware, even the 2 seperate PCs would be pretty nice). I would sell the extra hardware that you don't need, mabey try for a SCSI RAID array or something like that. But, it really depends on what you would be doing, sometimes 2 computers really can be handy...but more than that, once sweet dually can be even better.
 

Joker76

Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2002
Location
Rome, NY
Unless your gonna be doing video editing or very intensive 3d modeling/rendering, I don't think you really need an Athlon 1700/2000 dually. Because if your not, I think most of the processor cycles and RAM would go unused in a dually like this. I personally would build 2 computers, so if something happens to one, you have another. Also, this way you can set up one as a gaming computer and another as a file server or maybe a gaming server. It really depends on what you use your computer for.

It sounds to me like your a gamer, so here's what I would do:

Gaming rig:
Athlon 2000+
512 MB DDR
GeForce 3
1 Hdd (size?)


Then use whatever you have left to build yourself a nice backup computer or server. That's what I would do.
 

Gandalf

Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2001
Location
Near Niagara Falls, CANADA
Joker76 said:
Then use whatever you have left to build yourself a nice backup computer or server. That's what I would do.

SERVER!

Perfect Idea, especially if you put the server on your DSL/CABLE line and your gamin rig on the other!

That's what I would do.
 
OP
P

paupton

Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2002
Location
southwest louisiana
Thanks for the reply guys. I especially like the part about having a backup computer. I dont know why but i seem to always have my computer down for something.....hehehe mabe it's OC'ing. I think I will do the two systems and try that out. I will post later to let you know how it goes.
thanks again
allan